Monday, January 31, 2011

Review: The Green Hornet (2011) [Reviewed By Clifford Kiyabu]

Directed by: Michel Gondry
Written by: Seth Rogen (Screenplay) & Evan Goldberg (Screenplay)
Genre: Action / Crime
MPAA: Rated PG-13 for sequences of violent action, language, sensuality and drug content
Released: 14 January 2011
Starring: Seth Rogen, Jay Chou, Cameron Diaz, Tom Wilkinson, Christoph Waltz, David Harbour, Edward James Olmos, Jamie Harris.

Plot: Following the death of his father, Britt Reid, heir to his father's large company, teams up with his late dad's assistant Kato to become a masked crime fighting team.

Review: 7/10

The Story is about: Playboy Britt Reid (Seth Rogen) becomes the new publisher of Los Angeles' "The Daily Sentinel" after the sudden death of his father. Britt's party life is about to change when he and his driver and kung fu expert, Kato (Jay Chou), stop a robbery. With the help of Kato, Britt starts a new career of fighting crime as the masked superhero "The Green Hornet".

My Thoughts: One of my favorite late night shows to watch growing up was the re-runs of the old 1960’s Adam West Batman series which played in the early morning hours on Nickelodeon during their Nick at Nite timeslot. The show was way before my time, but for a child with a good imagination and easily entertained, this show was my late night delight (As you‘ve probably caught on by now I was a kid who liked sneaking out of bed to watch TV while everyone slept, not knowing of my little adventures) And every once in awhile they’d play the cross over episode which featured The Green Hornet which I thought was very interesting seeing that even at a small age I easily recognized Bruce Lee playing ‘Kato’ when others my age didn‘t know who Mr. Lee was, but I digress…

I’ve never really watched The Green Hornet show regularly but I caught a few episodes here and there, and I must admit, in comparison with the Adam West Batman series, it was very different, as where Batman was presented more of a cheesy comedic ZING and BLAM series, The Green Hornet was more of a straight up crime driven drama mixed in with some pretty heavy martial arts. But the two shows were suddenly two in the same when crossing paths but remained complete opposites from each other standing alone. For years there’s be talks in Hollywood about wanting to adapt the classic serial into a full length modern day feature but could never get around to solving their biggest dilemma, trying to decide which course of action to take the franchise. The series has changed hands with studios as well as changed names of filmmakers and stars being attached to the project, this film was considered dead in the water long before filming would even begin. It wasn’t until funny man Seth Rogen and director Michel Gondry took on the project no one was able to tackle.

And the finishing product, though wildly flowed, turned out to be quite enjoyable. I was a bit skeptical about TGH being a comedy action seeing that some would consider it a insult to the source material for it to be mostly comedic, but as Rogen himself had stated that this was his incorporation of the classic series and not a carbine copy of any previous works, which to some degree I can respect even though I’d have prefer those in the industry respect the hard work that went into birthing these original characters. However, TGH proved to be exhilaratingly entertaining and unapologetic. TGH works as a modern day version simply because it’s not hiding the fact it’s a little over the top at times but rather embraces it. I mean here we have Britt Reid (Rogen) a spoiled rich playboy party animal who spends his days doing what he does best, making a fool of himself and dragging the family name down with him but when he suffers a tragedy he suddenly wakes up to his childish ways and becomes the man he was meant to be alongside his trusty companion Kato (Chou).

If that’s not enough to get you to want to watch it then I’ve failed you! it was an all around a blast, the special effect were fantastic, and even more so were the fight sequences which proved to be a quite the sight to see. Though I won’t deny the fact the film had somewhat of a paper thin plot going for it which at times were quite predictable, and must worn the 3D effect weren’t much of a wonder but more a distraction if anything, with the exception of a couple scenes in the film, 3D was completely over hyped and underused in this. Aside from that The Green Hornet’s biggest problem seems to fall flat on the fact it suffered from an identity crises. It simply did not know what it wanted to be, where in some instances it played heavy on family orientated themes, the film carried way to much violence and vulgar language to make any parent feeling awkward from the experience with their child, and that’s not even including the wide use of sexual innuendos throughout the film.

As for the acting: The acting seems to be one of the film’s strong points. Seth Rogen’s performance as playboy Britt Reid was great, he’s not playing the same Britt Reid fan’s of the series are use to, and at time feels a little too similar to Rogen being himself rather in the role but it’s a version you’ll grow to love over time for being completely unapologetically it‘s own. Jay Chou was phenomenal as Kato, his performance was strongly reminiscent of that of Bruce Lee when he played Kato and he alone makes this fight sequences worth wild. Cameron Diaz was fairly decent as Lenore Case but I feel her talents ignored here, there was so much possibility surrounding her character that went ignored. Christoph Waltz, who played the character Chudnofsky AKA Bloodnofsky, was fantastic. He owned the role from the very start and makes for a fun and very unique villain. Another two great performances I feel were completely underused in this were Tom Wilkinson and Edward James Olmos. Both actors are legends in the film industry and should have had more involvement in the plot then what they were given. Shame on the filmmakers for not giving these men more screen time. James Franco’s small cameo as nightclub owner and crime boss ‘Crystal Clear’ in the beginning was hilarious and all around awesome.

Final Say: In hindsight to everything I just said. The Green Hornet was very enjoyable, it sure isn’t going to be a box office break nor does it completely live up the expectations that was building for it over the years, I for one was a little disappointed in the final product but when looking back at it all, it could have been much worst, so to that I say it was an okay way to kill a couple of hours. It’s totally worth checking out but NOT IN 3D. Recommended in 2D.

Copyright 2011 TCWreviews.com
All Rights Reserved

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Review: Machete (2010) [Reviewed By Clifford Kiyabu]

Directed by: Ethan Maniquis & Robert Rodriguez
Written by: Robert Rodriguez & Álvaro Rodríguez
Genre: Action / Comedy / Crime
MPAA: Rated R for strong bloody violence throughout, language, some sexual content and nudity.
Released: 3 September 2010 (USA)
Starring: Danny Trejo, Robert De Niro, Jessica Alba, Steven Seagal, Michelle Rodriguez, Jeff Fahey, Cheech Marin, Don Johnson, Lindsay Lohan,

Plot: After being betrayed by the organization who hired him, an ex-Federale launches a brutal rampage of revenge against his former boss.

Review: 6/10

The Story is about: A highly skilled Federale Machete (Trejo) is hired by businessman with illegal dealings to assassinate a U.S. senator who‘s at the helm of anti-immigration radicalism. But soon realizes he's been set up and past off as a patsy in a devious plot by those in higher office. The man without a country of his own is out revenge on his former employers, with the reluctant assistance of his holy brother father Padre Cortez (Marin) and Luz (Rodriguez) a young woman who’s helping those seeking refuge in the states, and Sartana Rivera (Alba) a sexy ICE agent who’s bent on upholding the law. Together they make the bad guys wish they‘d never existed!

My Thoughts: In 2007 Director Robert Rodriguez teamed up with director Quentin Tarantino to direct Grindhouse (2007), a double feature experience that were created as an homage to the lost genre of the 70‘s and 80‘s. Among the double feature were a series of fake trailers that played before the start of each film, among the list of fake trailers were films like: WEREWOLF WOMEN OF THE SS, DON‘T, THANKSGIVING, HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN, and MECHETE. After seeing the fake trailers I became just as enthusiastic about these trailers becoming a reality as the rest of the fan base were, because it was just as entertainingly enjoyable as the film’s they were attached to. So after three long year the fan base finally got what they’ve so desperately wanted. A full Machete adaptation brought to the big screen. What many don’t know however, is that the story of MACHETE was not actually written to be a fake trailer but rather conceived by Robert Rodriguez before he had written the script for Desperado and that the development of the project has been a long labor of love.

So what’s the verdict? Well to put it so simple and straight forward is not that easy, while the film works on one level it simply does not on another, and sadly the film repeats going down this depressing course of action repetitively throughout the course of film‘s run. The Good: The start of Machete is pure nostalgia for any Rodriguez fan out there as it brings a delightful splice between his work on “The Mariachi Trilogy” (AKA The Desperado Trilogy) and his work on Grindhouse, which brought together formulated into it‘s own as a bi-product, it works because it put’s Rodriguez in the zone of what he loves to do most which is making highly entertaining action driven films cuddled with rich Latin culture which he seems to execute quite nicely here, also seeing Danny Trejo and Jeff Fahey reprise they’re roles from the fake trailer was fantastic and seeing most of the scenes from the trailer strategically placed in the film was genus work on Rodriguez‘s part. The Bad: however, while the film seems to work well on the level of being entertaining it fails miserably on providing an adequately entertaining plot that moviegoers can enjoy, instead of giving the viewers a plot that’s worth their wild it ends up becoming overly repetitive and highly predictable to a mind numbing state. For example: Machete kills a bunch of bad guys then winds up with a young beautiful woman in his arms, then gets wounded. Later he winds up killing more bad guys and then, surprise, surprise - He winds up with another young beautiful woman in his arms and then get‘s wounded.. Again!. Sadly this becomes repetitive mostly throughout the whole film and doesn‘t add any new twists or turns that haven’t already been seen coming a mile away.

And The Ugly: it’s pretty obvious that Machete was made with the intention to be an inspiration to those of Latin heritage but I can tell you that I, being someone who has both Spanish and Latin ancestry felt more insulted by the portrayal of Latin’s in the film then inspired. But I digress, the main problem wrong with Machete is that it got a little too political at times instead of being just a all around fun rollercoaster ride of action meets entertainment like Death Proof and Planet Terror was. Simply put, Rodriguez couldn‘t make up his mind on what he wanted the film to be, at some points the film expresses a unreal sense action to the viewers but then demands to be taken seriously. As much as Rodriguez refuse’s to admit it, the film’s timing did seem a bit too coincidental coming out around the same time as when immigration reform is now a hot topic in the country again. In hindsight to what I’ve said. I really wanted to like Machete because the Grindhouse Trailer showed it had soo much to offer moviegoers but instead, wound up becoming mediocre at best

As for the acting: as much as I disliked the portrayal of the characters in the film, the actors did a fantastic job in their performances. First off Danny Trejo is probably one of the hardest working actors in the industry, the man just doesn’t know what it means to take break as he’s working on more projects these days then some of the biggest paying actors do in a few years, and no matter how awful a film may be he always known’s how to shine a little light into it be simply being in it. I know he made the Spy Kids films somewhat bearable just for being in it. His performance in Machete was like watching a Mexican version of Rambo, no I take that back, he is the Mexican Rambo! His performance was outstanding, it was so impressive to see him reprise the role of machete without missing a beat that it was extremely difficult at time to tell the scenes of him from the fake trailer and the new scenes apart. Robert De Niro is a fine actor who’s done some incredibly work, but his performance as Senator McLaughlin didn’t do him any justice on his career I can tell ya, I’ve seen him do a better performance in The Adventures of Rocky & Bullwinkle then this film, but on the Brightside, at least it’s better then any of those Focker films he‘s been in, I mean those are just painfully awful.

No matter how cheesy a film may be, having Steven Seagal, Jeff Fahey, Cheech Marin, and Tom Savini in it is a guarantee win-win on the entertainment level. Sure these guys are old, and out of shape, and probably waaaay past their prime, but having them together on screen is a sight none the less. Michelle Rodriguez was fantastic, but I may not be the only one (yikes I hope not!) but I enjoyed her much more as an actress when she had a harder body. I know she wants to feminine up but it also take a way from the bad-ass persona we were first introduced with all those years ago with Girlfight, Jessica Alba was mildly enjoyable, but if there’s one thing that irritated me the most about her performance in this films, it’s that she lacked complete personality, back in the day she could act, and would always give it her all, but now days it seems like she’s just phoning in the performance for the paycheck. Don Johnson on the other hand was a pleasant surprise in his performance as twisted border vigilante Von Jackson, who’s persona bore a strange familiarity I can‘t quite put my finger on. But if there’s any person who’s gone to the top of the mountain, fallen down to the bottom, climbed back up, only to fall back on her ass it’s Lindsay Lohan, it’s been years since the starlet has proven she’s still got what it takes to be in the big leagues, and though her performance in Machete doesn’t help her cause, she still managed to pull off a reasonable performance as April AKA Sexy Nun!

Final Say: When I initially heard about Machete being turned into a full length feature I was thrilled beyond belief, now that I’ve seen it I kind of wish it had stayed as a fake trailer, at least that way I still would have retained all my hope and love for the project. Though I hold disappointment towards the film I still hope for improvement in a sequel if one should ever be made. It’s defiantly not a recommendation to buy but is a rental fair.

Copyright 2011 TCWreviews.com
All Rights Reserved

PREMIERE: Brand New Maggie Marvel Trailer!

Ever hear the phrase; beware a woman’s wrath? If you haven’t then it’s best you learn it now. There’s nothing more dangerous than a woman who’s been wronged. What could possibly be more dangerous than that? A woman wronged and on a mission to get even! Silly Sisters Production and filmmaker Dan Brennan gave indie moviegoers a real treat last year when he released the film Maggie Marvel, which believe me is a movie like no other!

We at TCWreviews had the pleasure of reviewing the film earlier last year and recently had the pleasure of sitting down with the star of the film, Selene Beretta (sorry guys but that little gem of a interview will be up shortly) and in preparation of the film’s release on it’s new purchase option, download via the web, we have the extreme pleasure of presenting the film’s brand new trailer for your enjoyment. So check it out and enjoy!

About the film: Maggie Marvel is about a single Mom who moonlights as a contract killer. Maggie Marvel must balance career and family, murder and math homework. She is pushed into this dangerous world... only to find out she is very good at it.

video


MM is is Written and Directed by Dan Brennan. And star’s Selene Beretta, Diana Brennan, Katherine Barron, Dan Brennan, Sabrina Brennan, Samuel Whitten, Christopher Douros, Russ Camarda, Dasha Kittredge, And Allison Lane. And is now available to own on DVD and coming soon to download via the web.

Friday, January 21, 2011

First Look At X-Men: First Class!

When director Bryan Singer brought us X-Men, fans everywhere were overjoyed with glee. When he brought us X2: X-Men United, we cried tears of undying gratitude towards that man for making our dreams come true. When Brett Ratner took over where Singer left off of and made X-Men: The Last Stand, our fanboy hearts were crushed under the weight of Ratner’s cheese meter. When director Gavin Hood made X-Men Origins: Wolverine, it came so very close to becoming something potentially great, but alas there was no cigar. So this begs the question; what can director Matthew Vaughn do to prove that he won’t do what Ratner and Hood did to the franchise? I mean, fool me once (X-Men: The Last Stand) shame on you, fool me twice (X-Men Origins: Wolverine) shame on me! However, after allowing the name to sink in a bit I realized that Matthew Vaughn’s previous two films were Stardust (2007) and Kick-Ass (2010), two films that hold a very special place in my heart for being all around awesome and enchanting. So with that being said I’ll reserve my judgment on the project until I’ve seen the finished product.

Hero Complex spoke with director Matthew Vaughn about the upcoming X-Men film and what can we expect out of it. First off, according to HC, the film is going to be set in the 1960’s era, the same era that both artist Jack Kirby and writer Stan Lee débuted the Uncanny X-Men to readers. The film will follow the early days of the X-Men as the team is first formed by a young Charles Xavier (Professor X) and Erik Lensherr (Magneto). Much about the film’s plot is still kept under wraps at the moment but Vaughn assured that “This isn’t a reboot” and that no one is or will be replaced further down the road. Bryan Singer who is also the film’s producer had this to say about Vaughn and the new film, “It is an excellent cast,” he then went on to say about actor’s Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy playing the roles of Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr, two roles that were previously played by Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen, “I’m very sensitive to it. Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy are two of the best actors working today and that was needed to fill those shoes. Short of digitally recreating Patrick and Ian in their 20s I cant think of anyone who would be more equipped for this than these two guys. The challenge of that is what attracted James, I’m sure of it. That’s why the guy who starred in ‘Atonement’ would want to play a comic-book character in the first place because it was a role established by a really fine actor.” scroll on down to take a look at some of the official stills from the upcoming film…











Meanwhile in a interesting news bit Matthew Vaughn contacted Slashfilm to debunk the alleged leaked photo of the X-Men in costume that was released on the web earlier this week and wanted to assure fans that it was NOT a Fox approved image here‘s a tidbit from what he had to say. “I freaked out on them yesterday. I don’t know where the hell that came from. I don’t think it’s a Fox image. It’s not a pre-approved image. When I found out, I said, what the f*** is this shit, and Fox is running around trying to figure out what happened as well. I agree. It’s like a bad photoshop, which maybe it was by someone. It didn’t reflect the movie. I was shocked when I saw it. I was like ‘Jesus Christ’…” you can read the whole conversation by clicking the link above and can see the photo they’re talking about by reading the article is was posted with on MSN and click the link to show the full photo of the cast together.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Anne Hathaway and Tom Hardy To Star in The Dark Knight Rises!

“Holy Dingleberries Batman!” Do we have big news to report today! Since TDK’s (The Dark Knight) release, fans have been ogling over the debate on who would be the cape crusader’s next foe to face off against.

From a possible re-cast on the Joker to a new rendition of the Riddler, there was even a rumor at one point about actor Philip Seymour Hoffman in the running to play the Penguin. But as per usual, all rumors were sooner or later debunked by the man himself, Christopher Nolan. However, now the good people over at Warner Bros have decided to tickle the fanboys pink by announcing the villain, or should I say villains, in the next installment, THE DARK KNIGHT RISES!

Director Christopher Nolan has unveiled the villains of his next Batman installment with the announcement that Actress Anne Hathaway has been cast as Selina Kyle AKA Catwoman, and will team up with another newcomer to the franchise, actor Tom Hardy, who will play the infamous and formidable batman villain Bane. Hardy is no stranger to Nolan’s films as he was in last year’s blockbuster hit Inception. To get a clear insight into what’s happening with the development of the next Batman sequel, look no further as we have the official press release by Warner Bros below.

Warner Bros. Pictures announced today that Anne Hathaway has been cast as Selina Kyle in Christopher Nolan’s “The Dark Knight Rises.” She will be starring alongside Christian Bale, who returns in the title role of Bruce Wayne/Batman.

Christopher Nolan stated, “I am thrilled to have the opportunity to work with Anne Hathaway, who will be a fantastic addition to our ensemble as we complete our story.”

In addition, Tom Hardy has been set to play Bane. Nolan said, “I am delighted to be working with Tom again and excited to watch him bring to life our new interpretation of one of Batman’s most formidable enemies.”

Nolan will direct the film from a screenplay he wrote with Jonathan Nolan, from a story by Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer. Nolan will also produce the film with his longtime producing partner, Emma Thomas, and Charles Roven.

“The Dark Knight Rises” is slated for release on July 20, 2012. The film will be distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company.

In a pre-Heath Ledger Joker era I would have been skeptical about seeing either one of these actors playing the role of such iconic characters like Catwoman and Bane, but Nolan has proved us wrong once, and I believe that he can do it again. So I’m down with these cast picks. Plus it’ll be nice to see Anne Hathaway sport that tight sexy Catwoman outfit since she was so wrongfully denied her chance to play the “Vulturess” in Sam Raimi’s canceled Spider-Man 4 project.

Friday, January 14, 2011

First Look At Andrew Garfield As Spider-Man!

The day Sam Raimi’s Spider-Man franchise came to a tragic end, a dark gloomy shadow began to linger over the fan boy base, with the decision by the studios to scrap the forth installment (Along with it’s director) and reboot the whole franchise by going back to basics. The decision was also made to bring on an entirely new cast and completely screw over the Raimi Universe by rebooting the entire story arc by re-telling the web-head’s early days in action. The synopsis is still unknown for the Untitled Spider-Man Reboot, and at the moment, only a release date which is set for a July 3rd 2012 release, a full cast list and the fact that it’s being directed by the director of (500) Days of Summer, Marc Webb and is being written by James Vanderbilt (writer of The Losers) is known.

But wait! There’s more! I guess because the production has already reached that point of filming where they’ve got no other choice but to start shooting scenes with the actors in their costumes, Sony has done all us fan boys a solid while upping one over the paparazzo’s by releasing a photo still of the Spider-man star, Andrew Garfield as, Yep you guessed it, SPIDER-MAN!



As reported by Joblo.com, if you look closely to the hi-res version of the still, you’ll notice that Spidey is donning is classic artificial web-shooters on his wrists which means this could be a hint that the studios might be going with a more traditional classic Spidy rather then the organic webbing Raimi’s Spider-Man went with.



The Untitled Spider-Man reboot is Directed by Marc Webb, Written By James Vanderbilt. And star’s: Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Rhys Ifans, Martin Sheen, Sally Field, Denis Leary, Julianne Nicholson, Campbell Scott, Irrfan Khan, Annie Parisse.

So is this a return to form for the franchise with a more classic style Spider-Man or still a turn towards a more Brian Michael Bendis ‘Ultimate Spider-Man’ take as previously rumored? You decide!

[Side Note: it‘s disappointing to see actor Dylan Baker won‘t be donning the Lizard transformation after all, the actor was thrilled to be caste in the role of Dr. Curt Connors in Raimi’s Spider-Man films and always joked about becoming the infamous reptile one day. It‘s sad to see that, like many, he is being screwed over by the studios. Aha yes, the studios. How they love to screw people over. The fans, the actors, the creative process… but I digress.]

First Official Stills of Daniel Radcliffe In The Woman in Black (2011)

With the final chapter of the Harry Potter franchise only months away, screen it became apparently clear that it was only a matter of time before we’d start seeing Gryffindor’s finest step out of their school robes and into some big boy pants. Well it’s official, actor Daniel Radcliffe is doing just that. In his first post Harry Potter role (due out this year) the actor will be starring in British Horror “The Woman in Black (2011)” which is being Produced by Talisman Films in association with Hammer Films.] Below is the first official stills of the film which showcases Radcliffe in the lead role along with a full cast list at your pleasure.



Synapses: The story follows a young lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe), who is ordered to travel to a remote village and sort out a recently deceased client’s papers. As he works alone in the client’s isolated house, Kipps begins to uncover tragic secrets, his unease growing when he glimpses a mysterious woman dressed only in black. Receiving only silence from the locals, Kipps is forced to uncover the true identity of the Woman in Black on his own, leading to a desperate race against time when he discovers her true intent.

The film was previously adapted as a made for TV movie on the British network on ITV in 1989. The 2011 adaptation is Written By screenplay writer Jane Goldman (Kick-Ass). And is Directed By James Watkins (Eden Lake) and is based off of the acclaimed novel “The Woman in Black” by author Susan Hill. And will star: Daniel Radcliffe, Shaun Dooley, Cathy Sara, Mary Stockley, Roger Allam, Liz White, Lucy May Barker, Tim McMullan, Alisa Khazanova, Daniel Cerqueira, David Burke and Victor McGuire. It’s re

[Side Not: Aside from his great performance in the December Boys, It’ll be interesting to see Daniel Radcliffe showoff his acting capability outside the Harry Potter series]

Sunday, January 9, 2011

Deal With It, First Five Episodes of New Webseries Now Online!

When it comes to the debate over legalization versus illegalization, I don’t really have an opinion on the matter. I figure it this way; as long as law abiding citizens agree not to abuse the privilege of having it legalized, authorities have a way to regulate it and children are well educated about the harm it can do to one’s body, then I don’t see any harm in it one way or another (alright so maybe I do have an opinion), all I ask is keep it to yourself and out of my face.

Back in October (2010), we mentioned a new comedy web series called “Deal With It” which explored life after legalization of pot, the web series which is split up as mini episodes running at about three to five minutes each follows Quincy (Played by Michael Uribes) a dealer struggling to unload a huge crop of marijuana to pay back his debts in a post Prop 19 world, where marijuana is now legal and illegal drug dealers are obsolete. The series investigates Quincyʼs new life through an absurd comedic lens, as he fights to outwit a murderous loan shark and sell the rest of his stash. Since it’s release back in October, the series has gained an impressive cult following that continues to grow daily.



If you’re interested in checking this hilarious series out then the first five episodes are now available online on it’s Official Website. The series is Directed by Daniel Doherty II and Written by Matthew Giegerich & Chelsea Rae Mize. And stars Michael Uribes, Darryl Alan Reed, Danielle Payton, Matthew David Johnson, Sean McBride, Amanda S. Wilson, Cindie Haynie, Michael Ruesga, Jonathan Kells Phillips, Oron Mendel, Rhoda Pell.

Be sure to ‘Like' them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter.

Friday, January 7, 2011

Exclusive Interview With Actor Anthony Guajardo.

TCWreviews’s Administrator and Editor in chief, Clifford Kiyabu, sits down actor Anthony Guajardo for an exclusive interview! He’s an aspiring Actor that has a taste for the theater arts and the modeling business. He‘s appeared in the famous kid‘s film The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D, and AMC’s The Walking Dead. But what’s on the minds of many who reads this is; who is Anthony Guajardo? Well folks you’ll get your first chance at finding out in this exclusive interview that Anthony did with none other than yours truly. In this Q&A session I sat down with the actor in a no hold’s bar interview and asked the questions that some have been wanting to know…

Clifford: First off, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to do this interview with me on TCWreviews.com.

Anthony: No problem, I appreciate you taking the time out to type up these questions.

Clifford: Before we shift this interview into full throttle, I figure we’d start off a little light if that’s okay with you?

Anthony: Ha-ha yeah that’s fine dude!

Clifford: I think it’s important that my readers learn a little bit about the man behind the actor. So tell us a little about yourself, like where are you from?

Anthony: I was born and raised in San Antonio, TX. Although I grew up on the “ghetto” side of town, but I never let that stop me from chasing my dreams.

Clifford: At what age did you first get into acting?

Anthony: I was 7 when I first started, but 5 when I started telling my mom I wanted to act.

Clifford: What was the inspiration behind becoming an actor?

Anthony: One day I was sitting in my living room after school watching “The Mask” and while watching the film, I turned around to my mom making “Sopa” (Mexican soup) and told her “I want to be just like him!” (pointing to Jim Carrey on the screen). And that’s when it all started.

Clifford: Was getting into the movie business always your goal?

Anthony: YES. Acting was the first career I ever chose. I never wanted to be an astronaut or a fireman. When I was on the set of “Sharkboy and Lavagirl”, after seeing Robert Rodriguez in action, I decided I would also like to try my hand at directing after I advance my acting career.

Clifford: I see you’re also model aside from acting, what can you tell us about your modeling career?

Anthony: Ha well it’s a little rare now that I model, although I love to because it’s fun and simple and I just love to be on the set. I haven’t been requested to model for anything in a while, but I would be more than happy to do it again in the future.

Clifford: As an actor is there any particular genre you prefer working in?

Anthony: I love to do serious drama, but I also love action....ha! I personally don't think I am all that funny but would love to try some comedy also.

Clifford: What projects have you worked on?

Anthony: Sharkboy and Lavagirl, a bunch of commercials such as AAA and Valero, The Walking Dead, Theater. The list is not very long because I had quit the business for a few years and The Walking Dead was the first job I booked after I came back to acting in May 2010. I have been talking with Producers, but I can’t give the “dirty” details, ha-ha, I can just say that you’re going to be seeing me a lot more soon.

Clifford: Well we’ll certainly be looking forward to when you’re able to dish out the details at a later date. Perhaps in a second interview further down the road?

Anthony: Oh yeah, definitely!

Clifford: So you’ve done some theater, what projects in the theater field have you done?

Anthony: Local theatre projects such as “Dia De Los Muertos”, which is a Mexican holiday and few original pieces created in my home town. I was never really into the whole school drama club thing, not that there is anything wrong with it, but it just never interested me.

Clifford: You were in the “VATOS” episode of AMC’s The Walking Dead, what was it like being a part of that project?

Anthony: It was a freaking awesome!! A dream come true, everybody was so professional and really cool. I made a few friends on set, I also learned a lot more about how they do things on the set of TV shows. Such as how to work in a fast paced environment, in film there’s a little more time slack.

Clifford: how was it working with the cast and crew of The Walking Dead?

Anthony: It was great, everybody was really cool and professional. The actors were extremely talented and gave me a lot to work with and feed off of to make my performance better.

Clifford: So in other words, you can see yourself working with any one of them in a future I take it?

Anthony: Oh definitely! I would love to work with any of them again.

Clifford: I’m trying to withhold from giving any defining spoilers away about the episode to avoid spoiling it for those who have still yet to see it, but judging how the episode turned out, do you think there’s a chance we might come across on you the set again someday?

Anthony: I really hope so! Ha! I see Miguel coming back and, hopefully, so do Frank and Robert! A lot of people have told me that they hope Miguel comes back and I’ve been praying that I get that phone call saying that they want me, but only time will tell ha-ha

Clifford: Well I’ll tell you what, if the fans want you back bad enough, you’ll be back no doubt. [Laughs]

Anthony: Ha-ha thanks man.

Clifford: I know you can’t give us any details just yet, but should we be expecting a lot more of you in 2011?

Anthony: Yes, but probably even more in 2012!

Clifford: So how does you family feel about you perusing an acting career?

Anthony: They are all very supportive, whenever I need help with something, someone is always there to give me a hand.

Clifford: Are there any shout-outs to any family or friends you like to give?

Anthony: I would like to make a shout out to my parents, my friends at Calliope Talent, all of The Walking Dead fans, and zombiesurvivalcrew.com. I would also like to do a special shout out to my acting buddies Duran Antonio, Brittany Callahan, Jermuel Floyd, and Brandon Chase! I love you guys, thanks for all of your help!

Clifford: This next question I’m about to ask you has become somewhat of a tradition for interviews here at TCWreviews.com, so don’t worry, you’re definitely not the first one I’ve asked this question to, and you won’t be the last. [Laughs]

Anthony:

Clifford: The term ‘For The Sake of Art’ has always been coined in the entertainment industry for how far an actor/actress would be willing to go for, well… the sake of art. So my question to you is; How far are you willing to go for the sake of art in this industry?

Anthony: ha-ha I am willing to do whatever it takes, I have committed my life to acting and I won’t let anything stop me, so I am willing to go as far as I need to ha-ha

Clifford: I want to thank you again for having this little conversation and welcome you back in the future for another interview.

Anthony: Sounds great! Thanks for listening, I appreciate your interest.

And that concludes my interview with actor Anthony Guajardo. Anthony and I continued to talked for a bit longer after the interview was over, just some miner chit-chat and the possibility of a second interview some time in the near future. I thank you all who read this and Anthony for partaking in the interview, it sure was a blast! My personal opening on him is; he was an interesting and pleasant interviewee who wasn’t afraid to speak his mind. I think giving some time he’ll make his mark is the business. So keep in mind folks that you read it here first that he‘s going to be big someday, there’s no doubt about it in my mind. Anthony recently played the role of ‘Miguel’ in the VATOS episode of The Walking Dead on AMC. Previously he was in The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D (2005). Keep a lookout for Anthony as he’ll be popping up more in the industry soon enough. For more information on Actor Anthony Guajardo check out his official IMDB page or his Officially Plugged Page. You can also friend him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Wolverines Assemble! First Official Photo Of The Red Dawn Cast.

Even though we’ve known for quite some time now that it was in the works, and that nothing was going to cease it’s arrival (though some financial difficulties with MGM and one of the leading Chinese state-run newspapers spreading negative criticism towards the film did help delay it), the thought of a RED DAWN remake felt like a bad dream which we direly await to wake from. And for awhile it seemed like we’ve all forgotten about this little project as there was almost next to nothing being reported about it in quite a long time. However news is finally here about the film and it‘s new release date which can you believer it is this year!?!. Whether you like it or not the Wolverines have assembled! The first official cast photo of Red Dawn's new Wolverines just hit the web and I’ve got to say, it’s even less appealing when you take in the fact that this film feels a little less appealing being completely Swizzles (sorry but Chris Hemsworth doesn’t hold a candle against Patrick Swayze)

It’s unknown to how close the remake will follow the original, but one thing is certain, the remake will still have the Russians invading the US, only this time instead of having Cuba as their alley the Chinese will be aiding them in the invasion. There’s no doubt as the time draw’s closer to the film’s release date more controversy regarding the choice in villains will become apparent.



RED DAWN is currently slatted for a TBA 2011 and will star: Chris Hemsworth, Josh Hutcherson, Adrianne Palicki, Isabel Lucas, Edwin Hodge and Alyssa Diaz. And is directed by Dan Bradley.

Ron Perlman Reveals Details On Next Hellboy Film And A New HP Lovecraft Adaptation In The Works

If there was ever an ideal comic for fans of the occult, Dark Horse’s Hellboy was it, and whether Ron Perlman knew it or not at the time, he was born to play the character! Perlman has been making his rounds talking about his new film SEASON OF THE WITCH, which he co-star with Nicolas Cage. While doing so he let fan boys in on some interesting news regarding a second Hellboy sequel as well as a new H.P. Lovecraft adaptation. While talking to io9, he mentioned a potential role in Guillermo del Toro's long awaited H.P. Lovecraft adaptation, AT THE MOUNTAINS OF MADNESS.

"The movie takes place in the North Pole, and so I’m on board as this sort of dog sled dude. I spend my entire life with these dogs. So I’m a rough guy, among all these scientists. I’m a contrast to the deeply intellectual world that’s being explored. I live outside all the time, I live in the elements. I’m a no-bullshit kind of guy in a world of guys who just live in their heads. So it’s a beautiful role to play, given that backdrop. I kick some butt I hope we get a chance to do it."

Perlman then went into discussing HELLBOY 3, talking about some of the ideas that would be tackled in the sequel, if and when a sequel is made

"The only thing I can share with you is we have this demon who is a victim of this Oracle, which is not negotiable. He’s been summoned to the Earth for the destruction of mankind, and that’s non-negotiable. This whole notion that his nature, is the demon of destruction — against the way he’s been nurtured by his father, John Hurt’s character, to be kind and in the service of mankind. Those things are going to be in play in the third one. Then of course you have Liz pregnant with twins at the end of the second film. So you don’t know what those two offspring are going to be? Are they going to be more human? Are they going to be more demon? Are they going to be a combination of the two? And how is that going to play out, in terms of Hellboy’s destiny. Which I say again is non-negotiable. So that’s the backdrop for the third film. And everything will be resolved, all these open-ended questions will finally be resolved. I don’t know how, he didn’t give me those details. But that’s the backdrop for it."

At the moment HB 3 is still in a talking stage and nothing at all is set in stone, but who knows, if enough hype is raised by the loyal fans (come on people!) maybe we’ll see a second sequel happen sooner then we think.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Academy Award Nominee Pete Postlethwaite Passed Away at 64!

It’s bad enough that 2011 started off with the death of legendary sci-fi actress Anne Francis, but now the grim reaper is just being a dick to us by taking another truly great star all too soon. On January 2nd 2011, a great life was lost when academy Award-nominated British actor Pete Postlethwaite passed away at the all too young age of 64 due to complications after a brutal battle with cancer. He passed away peacefully at a hospital in Shropshire, England. Postlethwaite’s battle with cancer spans back to 1990 when he was diagnosed with testicular cancer, and had one testicle removed due to it.

Postlethwaite was well known for his many performance spending trough a large variety of genres in the movie business going back over 35 years. He was well know for appearing in the Steven Spielberg flick The Lost World: Jurassic Park, and was even once described by Steven Spielberg as "probably the best actor in the world today”. he also played the main villain and criminal mastermind “Kobayashi” in the 1995 hit film The Usual Suspects.

And acted in such memorable films as: Hamlet, In the Name of the Father, The Last of the Mohicans, Alien 3, Amistad, Romeo + Juliet and Æon Flux. Aside from film and television for which he appeared in over 100 roles in his 35-year career, Postlethwaite was also a fan of the theater art and had worked in numerous stage performances throughout his career.

2010 was also a big year for Postlethwaite as he appeared in three blockbuster hits, Clash of the Titans and Inception and The Town. his last credit will be Killing Bono which is set to be released in April.

On a personal note: though he never played the lead role as often as his talent deserved, he is and always will be remembered as a shining star to his loyal fans, friends and family. Postlethwaite is survived by his wife, a son, and daughter.

Peter William "Pete" Postlethwaite
7 February 1946 – 2 January 2011
R.I.P.

Sci-Fi Legend Anne Francis Passed Away at 80!

It’s always a sad day when having to report the death of a celebrity, especially when they’ve done something remarkable in the industry. That’s why it’s especially sad for me to say that Sci-Fi Legend Anne Francis has passed away at age 80 on January 2, 2011.

The actress, best known for her role as ‘Altaira’ in the sci-fi classic Forbidden Planet, has acted alongside some of the greats such as Glenn Ford, Barbra Streisand, Leslie Nielsen, Paul Newman ect... Francis was known by many as a sex symbol of her generation while proving to be another shining example as inspiration to women everywhere taking point in her career. She appeared on shows including The Twilight Zone, My Three Sons, Dallas, Matlock and much more.

The Emmy award nominee and Golden Globe winner was well known for her iconic performance as detective Honey West on the short lived television series Honey West (1965–1966). her last television appearance was in 2004 with a role on Without a Trace. She had always embraced technology in the manner of her official website, for which she used as a means to keep in consent contact with all of her fan base. She announced on her site awhile back about her failing health to her fans telling them that she was advised that she wouldn’t be able to sign autographs or answer fan mail until her health improved. Sadly, that improvement never happened.

Anne Francis is survived by two daughters and a grandson.



Anne Lloyd Francis
September 16, 1930 – January 2, 2011
R.I.P.


Saturday, January 1, 2011

Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I [Reviewed By Kelsey Zukowski]

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint
Directed By: David Yates
Written By: Steve Kloves (screenplay), J.K. Rowling (novel)

Grade: A+

I have always been a huge fan of the Harry Potter films, but when they started taking a darker turn they escalated to a whole other level. The Deathly Hallows Part I is practically void of any light; darkness nearly filling it whole. In many ways it doesn’t feel like a Potter film, it's vastly different than any that have come before it. In the last film, it ended on a very somber note with Harry and his friends seeming to be running out of their luck as they are faced with impending doom. Even though Voldemort is never destroyed at the end of any of the movies, Harry and friends somehow against the odds manage to save the day and set things right. This can only happen for so long, especially with Voldemort on the rise and followers flocking to him.

The Deathly Hallows Part I is of a different breed. I definitely appreciated that it was so different though. Each film in the series stands on its own, but there is a certain basic set up to each film; pre-school year, usually Harry stuck in the muggle world with his sad excuse for a family, the joys of reuniting with friends and Harry’s true home with the hint that something is brewing, Harry and his friends researching to try to find out more about what’s coming among quidditch, enchanted surroundings, and magical explorations before the final showdown, where things may look grim, but between Ron, Harry, and Hermione‘s skills and instincts, lightness is restored.

The only one of those elements that are present in the Deathly Hallows Part I is that something is brewing (although there is no subtle hinting about this, the whole world, magical and muggle has nearly collapsed) and trying to research and find out more in hopes of having a chance against Voldemort. We never even arrive at Hogwarts or have any of those nostalgic quirks of the series that we have become accustomed to. This makes it feel disconnected from others in the series, but at the same time it is very refreshing. With others, even without reading the books, more or less you know what to expect. In this film you’re really not sure what to expect, clearly whatever it is will be like nothing we have seen before and could be the end in many ways, meaning for all we know key characters could reach the end too. We don’t have the same self assurances that everything will work out, all signs are pointing to it not working out.

The one thing it felt like it was missing was that ever powerful sense of hope that fuels the magic and strength that these seemingly amateur wizards showcase when they need it the most. That has always been a big part of the appeal and magic of Harry Potter; not that physical magic itself but that belief being the foundation for doing wonderful, impossible things when all the power seems to be within the dark entities. Harry, Hermione, and Ron keep on running, trying to find the Horcruxes: possessions that contain immortality. They must destroy them, Dumbledore's last instructions for them before he died.

It’s hard enough for them to stay under the radar when everyone is looking for them since Harry has been named “Undesirable No. 1”, the Ministry of Magic has a number of people who are serving Voldemort, his takeover clearly just beginning. Always on the run, they have to find out where the other Horcruxes are, how they can get them, and destroy them in order to stop Voldemort. Amongst this their attention is turned to the symbol of the deathly hallows, which they soon discover represent the three most powerful possessions in the magical world. Voldemort is ready to take over the world, starting with Harry Potter. He knows that since their wands are made of the same bird he will never be able to kill Harry with his wand. Once he has the right wand not only will he effortlessly be able to kill Harry once and for all, but total domination won’t be far away. Harry and his friends never fully give up though, which is perhaps one of the most inspirational things I can think of; to fight endlessly even as it is destroying you as the rest of the world is crumbling to destruction and terror; daring to hope when it is seemingly so far gone.

This film is far more slow-paced than usual. There’s blurbs of action, followed by a lot of running and hiding out. It’s a lot more emotional too, good and bad emotions included. One particular device seems to bring out the worst in each of them, stirring up hopelessness, fear, and aggression, even turning them on one another when they’re all each other has left and the last hope the world has.

The cast has always brilliantly brought their characters to life, improving and building on them as the series continues. They definitely kick it up a notch here with less comic relief, whimsical fun, and action; it really rests on the characters and how they deal with the whirlwind of emotions, insecurities, and pressure among them. They all have darkness inside them too, which is being brought right before them, yet they struggle against it.

Rupert Grint was really given the most of this material, letting his fears get the best of him, showing the turmoil this could bring on Ron if they were to actually come true. Emma Watson develops Hermione further, building on her maturity as the one who has to keep everything together. We also see she feels pain and the consequences of the unknown fates before them, showing us she is only human. Daniel Radcliffe shows utter desperation as Harry in most of this film who can’t help but be doubtful that they even stand a chance anymore.

Of course, there are many notable performances. One of my favorites, Evanna Lynch as the quirky, oddly charming, and utterly intelligent, Luna Lovegood. The introduction of her father, Xenophilius Lovegood, was a good addition as well, just as light and whimsical as her in some cases and scared out of his mind to where it’s clear that person he was has been completely stripped of him. Imelda Staunton is completely repulsive and hateful as Dolores Umbridge, as she should be. She doesn’t falter in the slightest from the fifth film where she was the focus. It’s clear she actually does believe in what she’s doing, no matter how twisted her actions are. There are some who are clearly just scared for their own safety that they have conformed to the ways of Voldemort, but there are some who have the same ideals as him, making his army full of both fear and twisted self-righteousness.

There is a certain feeling of inevitability to Voldemort’s takeover. There are some scenes with the “educational reform” and searching for muggles and anyone with human blood, imprisoning, torturing, and killing what some believe to be inferior beings for not being pureblooded, that just reminded me a lot of Nazis and their hunt for Jews during the Holocaust. It’s a lack of acceptance and masking insecurities with trying to proclaim purebloods as the only ones worthy. Ironically enough, just as Hitler may have had Jewish ancestry in him, Voldemort has human blood in him. Childhood pain caused by his human father, fueling hate inside of him for his entire life has created a hate and power hunger so strong, hiding out is one’s only chance of survival to escape it.

This is no longer a mystical world to escape to; it’s one to escape from. Of course hiding out is only a temporary means of survival. It’s no wonder there is ever dwindling hope when Voldemort’s reign is both institutionalized and in the shadows. In some ways this is perfect as it hits closer to the real world we live in, both historically and just showing something more grim and less magical. It's an escape that both comforts the ugliness in the world that one might have experienced, allowing them to dwell in the grim mindsets that have a way of staying with us. It still works as a worst case scenario, showing that if they can keep on fighting against such a powerful dark being that will bring complete destruction, tedious torture, and utter domination to the earth when they know they are likely fighting a war that they cannot win, then that gives you hope against everything, even utterly consuming blackness. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I is a character-rich, doom and gloom film, nearly void of hope, but one that lets us know that luck is running out for the characters we have loved and grown with since their first day at Hogwarts; the beginning of the end.

TCWreviews' Presents: Best of 2010!


A new year, and a new movie season is coming, but before that happens, let us take a moment to remember what 2010 had to offer. From wizards and bank robbers, to re-visiting fairy tales and journeying back into the grid. 2010 was certainly a year to remember. We’d seen superheroes kick-Ass, to witnessing Scott Pilgrim take on the world. We’ve watched our favorite Toys like Woody and Buzz journey forth into a new adventure, and seen the borderless wonders that lay within the human mind. Or the all too grim reality that is war with no end insight, and how a person’s faith can be the game changer of a lawless time. Yes 2010 will live on as a year to remember.

Being the editor of TCWreviews’, I take great pleasure in looking back and remembering the year the was as well as look forward to the year the will be, and see what lays in store for all moviegoers. But before we do begin the Journey forward let us take a look back at the highlights of 2010.

[Note: The list below is a top 10 list of the best film’s 2010 had to offer which was equally compiled by all members of the TCWreviews’ staff]


1. INCEPTION (2010)



SYNAPSES: In a world where technology exists to enter the human mind through dream invasion, a highly skilled thief is given a final chance at redemption which involves executing his toughest job to date: Inception.


2. BLACK SWAN (2010)



SYNAPSES: A ballet dancer wins the lead in "Swan Lake" is perfect for the role of the delicate White Swan, but slowly looses her mind as she becomes more and more like the evil twin sister of the White Swan, the Black Swan.


3. TOY STORY 3 (2010)



SYNAPSES: The toys are mistakenly delivered to a day-care center instead of the attic right before Andy leaves for college, and it's up to Woody to convince the other toys that they weren't abandoned and to return home.



4. KICK-ASS (2010)



SYNAPSES: Dave Lizewski is an unnoticed high school student and comic book fan who one day decides to become a super-hero, even though he has no powers, training or meaningful reason to do so.



5. THE GHOST WRITER (2010)



SYNAPSES: A ghostwriter hired to complete the memoirs of a former British prime minister uncovers secrets that put his own life in jeopardy.


6. SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD (2010)



SYNAPSES: Scott Pilgrim must defeat his new girlfriend's seven evil exes in order to win her heart.



7. GREEN ZONE (2010)



SYNAPSES: Discovering covert and faulty intelligence causes a U.S. Army officer to go rogue as he hunts for Weapons of Mass Destruction in an unstable region.


8. HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS: PART 1 (2010)



SYNAPSES: As Harry races against time and evil to destroy the Horcruxes, he uncovers the existence of three most powerful objects in the wizarding world: the Deathly Hallows.


9. THE TOWN (2010)



SYNAPSES: As he plans his next job, a longtime thief tries to balance his feelings for a bank manager connected to one of his earlier heists, as well as the FBI agent looking to bring him and his crew down.



10. ALICE IN WONDERLAND (2010)



SYNAPSES: 19-year-old Alice returns to the magical world from her childhood adventure, where she reunites with her old friends and learns of her true destiny: to end the Red Queen's reign of terror.


I hope you enjoyed taking a look at the list we’ve compiled for you, weather you agree with the films listed here or not we hope that you at least got some form of joy out of reading this and hope that your stay is always an entertaining one of some form.