Sunday, September 25, 2011

The End of Originality!

I think it‘s time I got back into the habit of writing again. It‘s been far too long since I last spoke my mind, and for good reason of course. I used to go places when I wrote, places that my readers really didn’t care for me to go, and always made it clear to me in their hate-mail. It’s not my fault I have a straightforward mind, and a no-dick assessment when it comes to the topic at hand. Though it is a little crude of me to tell my readers to go ‘f**k off’ when they strike back. Still, I’m here again, and this time the topic of choice is my favorite people to hate, back in my very crosshairs. Yup… HOLLYWOOD.

But not just anyone and everyone in Hollywood. I don’t hate the hardworking waiter that’s forced to serve those arrogant no talent hacks that call themselves celebrities. I don’t hate the underrated and underpaid assistants that’s forced to bend over backwards and take it up the ass by their overpaid and overrated executive bosses. And I don’t hate the maintenance workers, the street cleaners, the hardworking film crews, the meter maids or even the prostitutes and come out after dark. No, not even them. Because even the prostitutes earn their pay… yeah, I just went there. Deal with it.

So who do I hate? Well, sit back and let me open up and explain myself. I hate the executives. I hate the executives that allow, back, or force each and every single comic book adaptation, remake, reboot, re-imagination, sequel and prequel out into the world. I hate the writers. No, not all of them, clearly. I hate the writers who supports these ideas by helping to put pen-to-paper, or finger-to-keyboard over and over again. I hate the actors who give in to these pathetic excuses by first, agreeing to star in these films, thus giving them notary and recognition, and second by demanding such high paychecks, thus raising the budget of said films to such an extreme level that it almost never makes the box-office that it should.

I hate that great writers and great directors are only recognized by a small contingent compared to the masses that follow idiots like Michael Bay and other mainstream directors. I hate that great actors are only remembered for the mediocre films that they stared in, rather than the memorable pieces of art that they worked endlessly to accomplish. There is no more originality left in Hollywood. There is only movies to pass the time between true works of art, which is quickly becoming scarce and in-between.

I bow my head to the hardworking men and women who strive to keep originality alive. I bow my head to the chosen few (and I do me few) executives who supports the arts by giving original ideas a chance… And I bow my head to every single person that supports these films by paying to see them rather than illegally downloading them off the net. Thank you for your contribution to the cause. Keep up the good work.

Copyrighted © 2011 - CsK Article.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

When Will They Learn?

Every time news hits the web about a certain celebrity’s phone or computer being allegedly hacked by some unknown illusive hacker, I can’t help but ask the question: When will they learn? I’ve stopped asking “why” eons ago, because everyone has their reasons. Maybe it’s because they thought it was a good idea at the time and never imagined that their phone would be hacked and it would ever get out. And then there’s those who do it to take “Self portraits of themselves” (common, really? Are you F***ing kidding me!?!).

But in truth, there are literally thousands upon thousands of reasons why someone would do something so impulsive as this, to be frank. But in the digital age that we live in where information travels across the globe in the blink of and eye, and a total stranger is just one keyboard button click away from invading your most personal aspects of your life, the question no longer become Why, but rather when will they learn?

This year alone has seen hordes of celebrities’ entrenched in a web of controversy over alleged photo scandal. The latest of course being Iron-Man 2 starlet actress Scarlett Johansson, whom had her naughty bits paced all over the internet by an alleged Hacker, as reported by paparazzi website TMZ . Also covered by them was the report that the Avengers’ star also went a notch further and contacted the FBI over the hacking and has had her attorney Marty Singer fire off in letters sent to various sites hosting the photos demanding that they remove the "stolen copyright protected private photographs" immediately or face legal action. TMZ also went onto say that Singer claims, "The highly personal and private photographs at issue capture our client self-posing in her own home in a state of undress and/or topless." And that if they failed to comply they’d "be acting at your own peril. Please govern yourselves accordingly." Now I’m not fully sure if Singer or his client, miss Johansson, might be aware of the stage they’ve just set for future scandals. By acknowledging these to be authentic and also taking claim to them being copyright, it makes websites displaying them to be in legal hot water of copyright infringement, and I foresee this becoming a trend in the near future. I’m not one to judge here, lord knows I’ve done my fair share of less noble stuff in the past. But that doesn’t change the fact that one cannot help but ask one simple question; when will people learn?

Tidbit: My best advice to other celebrities out there, don’t take compromising pictures of yourself with an electronic device that has net capability.

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Tragic Loss of Two Extraordinary Actors Over 9/11 Anniversary Weekend!

If things weren’t already feeling depressing with the 10th anniversary of 9/11, the day of the anniversary suffered yet another great tragedy to mark this particular date in the entertainment world. British actor and “Spartacus” star Andy Whitfield past away at the age of 39, on Sunday September 11th 2011. Whitfield was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma in May 2010 and was undergoing treatment in New Zealand. During the 2010 Comic-Con he told Zap2It in a interview that he was feeling “better than ever” and hoped to return for the second season of Starz‘s hit show. But unfortunately the cancer had gotten the better of him, as he was forced to take an indefinite leave of absence in September of that year. Many had still hoped for a speedy recovery for him, but it was with great sadness that he had lost the battle. Whitfield’s wife Vashti said in a statement issued to The Associated Press. “He passed peacefully surrounded by love. Thank you to all his fans whose love and support have help carry him to this point. He will be remembered as the inspiring, courageous and gentle man, father and husband he was.” On the official Gabriel (2007) Facebook page an official statement was released by the production “The entire Gabriel family and community are deeply saddened at our loss of Andy Whitfield. We thank you for all your support over these past few years and know he was grateful for it also. There will never be another like him...”

…and if that news wasn’t depressing enough, Hollywood suffered the lost of another legend earlier in the week. Veteran actor and Academy Award-winner Cliff Robertson passed away of natural causes on Saturday September 10th. at Stony Brook University Medical Center on New York's Long Island, a day after his 88th birthday. Robertson is famously known for such roles as portraying President John F. Kennedy in the 1963 WWII film “PT 109” and for his portrayal of a mentally disabled man in "Charly" in which he won an Oscar for. Robertson never quite achieved reaching the top dog level in Hollywood like some of the other notable stars of his generation, but never once faded from the public eye even the 21st century. According to Evelyn Christel, his personal secretary of over 50 years, said that he died of natural causes. For modern moviegoers Robertson will be remembered as the kind hearted Uncle Ben in the Sony Pictures’ box-office hit Spider-Man films directed by Sam Raimi. Spider-Man 3 is noted down as his last official film appearance.

Monday, September 12, 2011

Concept Art of Pinhead And Other Cenobites For Possible “Hellraiser” Remake!‎

Not long ago, I posted an article about the horrifyingly awful Hellraiser sequel; Hellraiser: Revelations, which was visually hell to say the least (and believe me it was not a complement on the film). Long story short, I wouldn’t dare recommend it to anyone, including my own enemies… period. Well I’m not here today to talk about that blasphemous piece of garbage, but rather something else that’s more or less in relation to it, so to speak. As you know, the powers that be in Hollywood is relentlessly determined to remake, reboot and or re-imagine every bit of film property that they can get their money grubbing hands on,. So it was only a matter of time before they’d eventually make their rounds to the Hellraiser franchise. And believe me, after Revelations, I don’t think there is a single fan on planet earth that wouldn’t welcome a do-over on the franchise at this point.

So if you’re eagerly awaiting the new remake as I am, then get ready to become all giddy with glee as Shock Till You Drop has acquired exclusive concept art of what the new Pinhead might look like! conceptual designs that were created for Patrick Lussier and Todd Farmer's Hellraiser remake. These were created by FX vet Gary J. Tunnicliffe of Two Hours in the Dark. As you can see, they maintained some similarity to the original Pinhead design, but encased it in a rather phallic collar. He was going to be joined by another male Cenobite known as "Skinner" and a female Cenobite. Check it out below and afterwards go HERE to see two new Cenobite concepts:
On a sad note however, it was reported earlier this week across the interweb that the status of the remake moving forward has lost some steam in it’s progress. Apparently “Drive Angry” helmer Todd Farmer and Patrick Lussier were attached to the remake, but during the attending of the Los Angeles signing event for “Still Screaming” the due apparently said it was unlikely to happen with them. In a interview with horror website Bloody Disgusting Todd Farmer went on record when asked if they were still involved. “I don’t think so. We developed several versions for Dimension, but in the end we never saw eye to eye creatively. We wish them the best and look forward to seeing what they come up with. We expected when we came back from 'Drive Angry' that we would jump on 'Halloween 3D'. But they wanted to do 'Hellraiser' first, and we were sort of intrigued by the idea. We’ve done probably three different outlines at this point; we haven’t gone to script yet.” you can read the interview in it’s entirety HERE

Tidbit: It’s rumored that Revelations was made specifically as a last ditch effort to maintain the rights to the franchise a bit longer while the studios work a bit harder on properly develop the remake, but only time will if there’s any truth to that, but if that is the case then they better make the wait worth it. For now no dice on the remake.

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Review: The Symphony (2011) [Reviewed By Kelsey Zukowski]

Starring: Robin Zamora, Marissa Merrill, Bill Oberst Jr.
Directed By: Michael LaPointe
Grade: B+
Review Written by Kelsey Zukowski
I have become really burnt out on screeners lately. Everything I get seems to suffer from terrible mediocrity. If some of these films would try to take chances, do something even slightly different, or have any purpose or point to the recycled kids-in-the-woods horror scenario, this wouldn’t be the case. Among the first minute of The Symphony, I knew this film would be the exception to those I have been seeing lately. It’s original, insightful, and filled with passion. The film takes an interesting approach to storytelling, following the standard act structure and elements, but clearly having an experimental film identity. It utilizes this without ever really feeling too experimental. It’s authentic, relatable, and engaging all the way through. The audience never has to question what is going on or if there is some abstract translation to it.
Ray (Zamora) is a self-mutilating artist who believes his life’s work of completing an album of truth is just within his reach. Ray largely uses actual clips of authentic human movements and actions, representing their humanity. It’s all about showing mankind, from the vibrant life it possesses to the pain and ultimate farewell. He cuts himself to try to find his muse, any ideas or abstract thought through a dream spawned by the pain that he can use. His girlfriend just thinks he has an obsession to his work and feels neglected. Ray can barely break away from his work, to him it’s not work; it’s the entire purpose of his life. When Ray begins seeing a homeless man who might hold the key to all of his answers to completing the perfect piece, he slowly gives himself over to him. How far will Ray go to complete this piece though and is his life worth the legacy he might leave behind?
“I cut myself, it burns so much the pain makes me hallucinate and pass out. Just to have a dream I can use. Use to make a sound for the album.”
This is one of the first spoken statements of the film. I was immediately sucked in from then on. There is just so much Intriguing material in that line of dialogue alone; meaning to self-mutilation, what can drive a person there, craving for artistic meaning through dreams, the passion and dedication to not only ones craft, but to bringing a purpose to life, something concrete that will last longer than a fragile, mortal life.
In the interest of not spoiling anything I won’t list what the last line of dialogue is, but it goes hand in hand with the quote above; both seem to summarize the film perfectly, coming full circle to the true importance of this in the end. That is something that few films can do, while seeming completely genuine rather than overbearing. It really is a perfect ending, how it had to end, challenging our main character to see how much he would really sacrifice.
Robin Zamora did an incredible job in the lead role. If it wasn’t for him committing to it so fully and bringing out this realistic character the film could have very easily fallen apart. Ray’s inner monologue helps us get inside of his mind and understand his turmoil and drive, but we really don’t even need that to empathize with him. Zamora’s facial expressions show all of the emotion that is surging through Ray’s veins at any given moment. His eyes carry it all. All of the performances were very naturalistic, but just based on comparison Zamora outshines them all.
The content and execution of a film is what really sways my opinion. I can appreciate a good looking film, but I tend to be more substance over style. However, The Symphony is the best of both worlds, the all around good film. The aesthetics are impressive, but are there not to look pretty but to compliment our character and his story. Ray’s dream world and composure in his work are where his spark lies. Thus, these are the moments that are brightly colored jarring images and an alternate state of mind. Every sound is amplified, even the seemingly mundane. To our protagonist no sound is insignificant, especially those that are pure forms of human life. Any time he is editing, there is a clock ticking away, personifying a death clock count down. It works off the question of the film, will the album’s completion or death come first? The visuals are dark and gritty, bringing us in to this dark tale full of intensity, determination, and the brushing along the edges of death.

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Boondock Saints’ Graphic Novel Now Available For Pre Order!

For many fans of the Boondock Saints franchise, there is only one defining moment that will fill them with pure ecstasy, and that’s the day that word comes down the wire that a new sequel is on it’s way. Sadly, that is not today. However, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak. A bit good news that will no doubt flutter the hearts of Boondock Betties everywhere. And that news comes to us in the form of a comic written by Boondock Saints’ helmer Troy Duffy and will serve as the perfect companion to the film series…
The BOONDOCK SAINTS' initial foray into comics is now available for pre-order in a collected edition chock-full of never before seen bonus material (on sale this November)! TROY DUFFY’s original BOONDOCK SAINTS film is one of the most successful independent movies of all time, with a fiercely loyal and devoted fan base - including 4.5 million social media fans and counting. With the hit comic series "IN NOMINE PATRIS", creator/writer/director TROY DUFFY launched the first "Saints" story to take place outside the iconic films. Written by Duffy and comic scribe J.B. LOVE, the comic series is the perfect companion to the films.
The story masterfully interweaves the events of the BOONDOCK SAINTS II: ALL SAINTS DAY with brand new material to reveal the secret history of the original saint, NOAH MACMANUS (IL DUCE) as he wages a bloody war against 1960's New York's Underground Crime world. The storyline is intercut with brand new adventures of the BROTHERS MACMANUS (The Boondock Saints) doing what they do best; doling out their special brand of justice to those that deserve it. "In Nomine Patris" brings a new chapter of the Saints saga to life while revealing the family legacy that created this trio of "Shepherds".
Featuring a forward by Connor MacManus himself - actor, SEAN PATRICK FLANERY - Join Troy Duffy and his comics team in this thrilling new Saints Adventure by pre-ordering the collected edition. This special trade paperback collects all six comic issues, never before seen art, a cover gallery, behind the scenes sketches and more. This is the collection the fans have been waiting for!
INNFUSION and 12-GAUGE COMICS are proud to announce THE BOONDOCK SAINTS, VOL. 1 TP: “In Nomine Patris”; NOW AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER at, Barnes & Noble, Hastings, and all quality book and comic book stores across North America.
For a comic shop in your area, please visit
Tidbit: Thanks to Wendy Shepherd over at Studio Matrix for sharing this.