Friday, December 31, 2010

Review: Road to Victory (2007) [Reviewed By Clifford Kiyabu]

Directed by: Mike Reilly
Written by: Mike Reilly
Genre: Drama
MPAA: Not Rated
Released: September 22, 2009
Starring: Mike Reilly, Julia Benson, Poppi Reiner, Peter Abrams, Winston Brown, Clay St. Thomas, Keith D. Humphrey,

Plot: A star athlete on the verge of turning pro must decide which dream to pursue while he battles his own body.

Review: 8/10

The Story is about: An injured college athlete, accused of taking steroids, falls for a stripper, but is unable to perform sexually. The relationship oscillates between tender and cruel; issues of infidelity, along with doubts about his ability to father children arise, as his on-field performance begins to decline, putting his draft status at stake. Road To Victory is a thoughtful look at the role of gender in the patient / physician relationship, limits imposed on physicians by changes in the health-care industry, and even the limits of drugs designed to replace the physicians. It asks the question of what level of fidelity is acceptable in a relationship where sex isn't possible. And lastly, it looks behind sensationalized media headlines over steroid abuse, at the human elements that really drive athletes to succeed, and the price associated with the choices required to achieve that success.

My Thoughts: The journey to one‘s recovery is a process that often at times leave tire marks on the human psyche as it is filled with stress and emotional pain that will take it‘s toll on the most strongest of willed people, and a fight to win this recovery isn’t always a simple one. But the anecdote to the journey is a well deserving lesson to be learned, to heal; one must be ready to choose to let go the thing they love most or that which completes them, which are never always the same.

When I first heard about Mike Reilly’s feature length directorial debut, Road to Victory (2009) I initially thought this was going to be another sports film because everything about it that was advertised commercially screamed ‘football’ movie! The trailer said it, the poster said it, even the synapses hinted at it. However when taking a closer look at the film (Thank goodness). You discover this film is far from being a sports movie, though football is shown throughout the film, it plays somewhat of a minor role at best to the plot. What the Road to Victory actually turned out to be is a very powerful and engaging his & her relationship film that dug deep into the real problems some couples face once the honeymoon of the relationship has passed, such as intimacy issues, and feeling suffocated by each other which leads to communication between one and other to break down into a bitter ending. Unfortunately for the main characters of RTV, the cute puppy love period of the relationship was over before it even began. The main characters, Elliot (Mike Reilly) and Anna (Julia Benson) are experiencing some pretty though obstacles to overcome only three months into their relationship. Elliot, a star quarterback football player on the verge of professional football stardom is having trouble being able to perform sexually with his girlfriend due to low testosterone levels, the decrees in testosterone is also affecting his ability to perform antiquely on the field as well as on a every day to day bases. As the accusations about whether or not substance abuse had anything to do with his impotence pile on, he’s having an even harder time coming to terms with Anna working as a stripper at a local club. Anna is having a hard time dealing with their sexless relationship and is beginning to have doubts about their relationship together and if weather or not remaining with him is a good idea in the long run, a part of her wants to experience the experimental years of her youth in collage but retains too much ernest love for Elliot to just simple walk away. While they share a sincere love that goes maturely both ways, Elliot and Anna will be tasked with making the ultimate decision, can they’re love for each other be enough to save what they have together or will it be they’re undoing?

RTV was fascinatingly seductive, it lures the viewers in and capture they’re attention fully, it was the first mature romance drama for both genders I’ve seen in a really long time, most romance dramas out there are meant to cater to female moviegoers rather then it’s male counterpart. It’s an unfair tone the movie industry has stuck with for quite a long time, but thankfully Mike Reilly shed light on this problem and brought to the table a film that’s powerful message can be enjoyed by both sexes, and presents some very pressing matters. Substance abuse among athletes have been in the media quite often lately but only half truth’s behind the reason some are willing to make a compromise with their ideals. People love hearing or reading up on the gossip behind athletes being accused of taking steroids and the constant denial of it in hopes that eventually one of them will crack and tell all. It’s easy to take in the how and the when, but not the why, no one ever wants to hear why they took it, what magnitude of stress to maintain a picture perfect image we perceive of them were they under before deciding to forgo on such a disappointing path. And even if they’d fully explain themselves would you listen then alone believe it? The film explores the harsh reality most men go through when not being able to be 100% with their other half, contrary to popular belief; men and women are equally vulnerable emotionally, though most men may not express their inner emotional stress as commonly, the ability or lack therefore of, to perform harbor great emotional stress that takes it’s toll on both a man’s physical and psychological health over time.

But make no mistake about it, RTV is a relationship film first before anything else, and shows the reality of relationships and not the commercially manufactured version we’re sold by the mainstream industry. Real love isn’t the happy-go-lucky “love defeats all” message we’re told by mainstream films, real love is when the spark between a couple dims, or in most cases, die, and you find yourself gunning for each others throats half the time, thinking about how to get back at each other, but no matter how much you think you can’t stand to look at one another; you find that you cannot for the life of you imagine a life without that special other in it. Among other things, the score was truly remarkable, it set the tone of the film with it’s deep emotional overtones that proved to be quite affective in every way, I being a fan of movie scores found it to be one of the best attributes this film has going for itself, because it complements the story and graces every scene in just the right manner. Like all films though, RTV doesn’t go without flow and lags for the most part of the first act, but thankfully it‘s quickly saved towards the end of it‘s second act which picks up the momentum for the closing act.

As for the acting: movieScope Magazine in 2008 named Mike Reilly as 'One to Watch', before going into RTV I had no idea what they meant by it, was it his acting skills? his writing? Or maybe his directing? Well as it turns out it was all of the above, Reilly’s performance as Elliot proved to be extraordinarily entertaining, and I can certainly understand the appeal by movieScope for naming him “one to watch“, his performance as Elliot was outstanding because it project the troubling truth on what effects low testosterone levels play on the male mantle and physical state. His acting, though flawed, turned out to be quite enjoyable and shows great room for improvement with time. Most may not realize that Julia Benson have been in the biz for quite some time now appearing in mostly Sci-Fi shows and films, in RTV Benson portrayal of Anna was magnanimously wonderful. Her portrayal was spot on fantastic for a character that was a real love/hate combination for me, while I hated Anna’s overzealous negative treatment towards her boyfriend Elliot, the way she belittled him about his condition at certain points proved to be a real deal breaker in terms of liking the character. However, in the most dire moment of the film Anna is redeemed in my eyes when she show’s the willingness to stick by his side no matter what the outcome. The chemistry between both actors proved to be brilliant and worked on a believable level.

Final Say: Looking back at Road to Victory, it turned out to be more impressive then I originally expected. Ultimately it dares to ask an important question for both men and women. For the Men: are you man enough to put aside games to settle down and start a family? And for the Women: if your man suddenly became ill beyond medical ad, would you still stand by his side trough think and thin? though dreadfully hash these questions may be, it reminds us all one important piece of advice; be there for those you love no matter what, and always choose what’s right, over what’s desired. I highly recommend!

Copyright 2010 TCWreviews.com
All Rights Reserved

Friday, December 24, 2010

Christina Hendricks And Olivia Munn Cast in New Sarah Jessica Parker Flick!!!

Sarah Jessica Parker was once considered a diamond in the rough in terms of being a rising star who could act and was easy on eyes… now days she just considered by some as rough (To much Sex and the city can do that to you, you know). Well it appears that the actress will be starring in a new film next year called I DON’T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT based off of the acclaimed book by author and controversial columnist, Allison Pearson’s book ‘I Don't Know How She Does It: The Life of Kate Reddy, Working Mother’and is said to follow the book closely to the letter. The film hasn’t received a targeted release date yet other then a TBA 2011, which is assuming it’ll probably hit theaters some time in the fall of 2011 seeing it hasn’t been filmed yet.

The film is being described as “A comedy centered on the life of Kate Reddy, a finance executive who is the breadwinner for her husband and two kids.” Parker is set to play the lead role but is that enough to get moviegoers to live their home and go out to the cinema to see it? Well this may not gain much female viewership but the film is guaranteed quite a few male viewers to head and see this on opening weekend as the studio has already cast the voluptuous bombshell ‘Mad-Man’ star, Christina Hendricks, and former G4’s ‘Attack of The Show’ co-host Olivia Munn in supportive roles. No word as of yet as to what parts the two actresses will play then along how much of the film’s plot they’ll be a part of but one thing is certain, no matter how the film turns out, weather it be a success or a failure having these two actresses in it will guarantee you gossip by fan boys of the two starlets and even some brave souls willing to sacrifice seeing a chick-flick to get a glimpse of the two stars.



A part of me however, can’t help but feel that Hendricks and Munn were cast to gain a more visual appeal towards this film, seeing that having Parker (though she pulls in a decent amount of revenue for her films) in the lead just doesn’t cut it anymore to gain physical attraction to a film these days (Need I remind everyone again the horror that was Sex and The City 2?) and let’s face it, with the exception of Hendricks, I kind of feel that Munn isn’t being cast for her acting qualities either. Pierce Brosnan, Kelsey Grammer and Seth Meyers has also joined the cast.

Former Smallville Star Pleads Guilty to Drug Charges!!!


One of my favorite shows back in the early 2000’s was the CW’s (formally known as The WB) Smallville. It was the closest thing to a live action Superman show back on the air, and it wasn’t hard to like the new characters that were introduced to the show.

From Clark’s nerdy classmate and best friend, to the interesting turn of introducing a love interest that’s not the commonly known character. But as the years went on, and the characters began to depart, so did my love of the show. I’d always hoped something big would arise out of the cast of this show.

However, one particular Smallville actor, Sam Jones III, the actor well known for his role as ‘Pete Ross’ for three seasons on the hit CW series, Smallville, faces as much as up to 20 years in prison for drug charges. Jones was involved with a drug gang that was taken into custody by D.E.A. agents on charges of drug trafficking and charged with conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute in October of 2009. On December 16, 2010, the actor pleaded guilty to conspiracy to sell more than 10,000 oxycodone pills to through him as their 'Hollywood connection' but was caught after attempting to purchase the drugs from undercover DEA agents. This coming at a time when the actor has already faced a great deal of controversy, starting with the actor making a sex tape with his girlfriend, former Playboy playmate Karissa Shannon.

According to court documents, the documents state the government “seized a massive amount of drugs from the gang - 586 pounds of marijuana and 10,000 fake Oxycodone tablets, which the defendants believed were real.” With his guilty plea in motion so ends a once promising career as an actor. Jones has since been released on a $120,000 bail, for which includes both cash and property holdings. He’s set to be sentenced on June 22nd. 2011 and could face as much up to as 20 years.

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Take A Look Inside Room #334 If You Dare!


In today’s day and age the internet has become the new ‘Cable T.V.’ of this generation, much like to what cable television was to basic cable, and what basic cable was to the ‘radio airwave’ generation before them. And like all mediums, new and exciting content is created ever second, including those that are meant to push the envelope a bit. This type of content is always considered taboo and sometimes risky. But as they say “Nothing fun or original ever came from playing it safe all the time”

Anyhow, a new web series is attempting to do just that with it’s risky, yet entertaining taboo situations which include “a gay exorcism, a behind the scenes porn shoot, euthanasia, illegal immigration (as where some of the actors have mustaches), a hostage situation, a clowns revenge, crazy psychologists, a Halloween episode, and a group of fabulous drag queens.” the series is called "Inside Room #334." and is produced by Monkey Hatchet Productions. It’s said to be a series like none other and is being considered as “very different than anything out there right now as the series is like scripted reality.”

Synapses: Someone has planted a spy camera in the peephole of the door of ‘Room #334’ at a hotel. The occupants don’t have any idea that the spy camera is filming their every move. As audience members, you will get the chance to see exactly what happens inside this hotel room. Each experience will be different, as there are different occupants staying every night. From Comedies, to Dramas, to Horror...you will not be bored

The series’ first season is set to have 10 episodes with each episodes running in at about 20 to 30 minutes apiece and will star completely different casts as each episode will have completely different occupants as no two episodes will be related in any way. All episodes will be presented to viewer via online for free with the first few episode already available online and new episodes premiering every Wednesday at 8PM Pacific Time. To see new and old episodes check out Inside Room #334 official website. To learn more about Monkey Hatchet Productions visit MHP’s official website.

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

JOIN THE TEAM, APPLY TODAY!


We at TCW Reviews are currently looking to add some new blood to our team's roster, someone who can meet the requirements below.

What Would Your Responsibilities Be?
We believe in equality for all our members and ask for consistent collaborating between the staff, remember there is no “I” in team. Furthermore each and every new addition will have responsibilities, such as:

-Writing movie reviews
-Writing movie articles and celebrity gossip
-Doing interviews with actors and filmmakers

What Do You Get Out of It?
Sadly the position is a non-paying gig. However, while we’re unable to pay any of the staff members of TCWreviews, you will get rewarded with the joy of having:

-Your work seen by our readers from all over the world
-Making contacts with people from different parts of the industry
-Befriending the staff of TCWreviews
-Representing an up and rising image

What Are The Applicant's Requirements?
We pry ourselves with the policy that all members remain non biased in their articles while maintaining a standard degree of quality in their writing. So to make sure of this we ask all new writers:

-Must have fairly decent grammar and writing skills
-Must be willing to commit to a minimum of 6 months with the site
-Must be willing to write a minimum of 1 review and or 4 articles on the site a month
-Must not cause or bring personal drama of any form to the site (which include having been involved in or alleged illegal activities)

(Note: Any violation of these terms will render your position at TCWreviews as null and void)

Interested? If so, then please send us an email telling us a bit about yourself at Apply@tcwreviews.com ( background, age, etc...), explaining why you think you'd be the best candidate to be a new addition to our team, include a few of your previous writings (or links to sites for which you've done some work if any). We will try and get back to you ASAP.

Friday, December 17, 2010

Review: Inception (2010) [Reviewed By Clifford Kiyabu]

Directed by: Christopher Nolan
Written by: Christopher Nolan (written by)
Genre: Drama / Sci-Fi / Thriller
MPAA: Rated PG-13 for sequences of violence and action throughout.
Released: 16 July 2010 (USA)
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy, Ken Watanabe, Dileep Rao, Cillian Murphy, Tom Berenger, Marion Cotillard, Pete Postlethwaite, Michael Caine.

Plot: In a world where technology exists to enter the human mind through dream invasion, a single idea within one's mind can be the most dangerous weapon or the most valuable asset.

Review: 10/10

The Story is about: Dom Cobb is a skilled thief, the absolute best in the dangerous art of extraction, stealing valuable secrets from deep within the subconscious during the dream state, when the mind is at its most vulnerable. Cobb's rare ability has made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world of corporate espionage, but it has also made him an international fugitive and cost him everything he has ever loved. Now Cobb is being offered a chance at redemption. One last job could give him his life back but only if he can accomplish the impossible-inception. Instead of the perfect heist, Cobb and his team of specialists have to pull off the reverse: their task is not to steal an idea but to plant one. If they succeed, it could be the perfect crime. But no amount of careful planning or expertise can prepare the team for the dangerous enemy that seems to predict their every move. An enemy that only Cobb could have seen coming.

My Thoughts: A professor in philosophy once posed a question onto his students “How can you prove to me you’re not merely a part of someone’s dream?” the students were for the moment, clueless. After the silence had over stayed it’s welcome the professor of course told them the correct answer to the question which was: “I am able to think, therefore I am alive.” Hence one of French philosopher René Descartes’ most memorable quotes “I think, therefore I am”. but unknown to someone like René Descartes, who was born in the 17th century, the wonders of technology was still a distant dream away, but not unknown to the people of the 21st century, the possibility is but an invention away. As man relentlessly attempts to unlock the secrets of his own potential, the idea slowly becomes the reality, and the line’s that which separates reality from dream begins to grow more and more elusive. One can only imagine what the future will bestow us.

Director Christopher Nolan, the genus mind behind 2008’s blockbuster, The Dark Knight (2008). bring forth the stunningly eye popping psychological thriller, Inception (2010). A film that captures the terrifying possibility of a world where corporate espionage has reached horrifyingly new heights. Where a person isn’t safe in the most sacred of place, their dreams. Imagine a world where information could be extracted from you’re subconscious while you slept comfortably unaware of the theft, the idea of someone being able to access you’re deepest, darkest secrets is without a doubt both a fascinating and frightening thought I can promise you that. Firstly before I say any more there’s something that’s got to be known; over the years I’ve grown to greatly enjoy Nolan’s work as a filmmaker, it seems that with every passing film he seems to better his filmmaking technique and style. However, every artist reaches that halting point in their work where they’ve hit a wall in they’re potential, sort of speak. For filmmakers this is a very troubling thought because for many of them, once you’ve hit that stopping point it may take years and a slew of mediocre films placed unto their career’s before finally getting that groove back, but for some there’ll never be a way. I was more than convinced that Nolan hit that wall with THE DARK KIGHT, I was certain without a doubt TDK was Nolan’s Sistine Chapel and that nothing would ever amount to it’s greatness, and perhaps it was his breaking point as both a blessing and a curse. However that was until I saw INCEPTION, which not only proved me wrong, but stood as proof that no matter how great the achievement may be, there is always room for further improvement.

INCEPTION in my honest opinion, will stand the test of time as a remarkably fantastic film with gorgeous, yet intoxicating visuals that are beyond explanation by words to properly give it justification, the best way I could possibly put it into nearly comprehension of how great it was visually, would be compeering it to a dream coming to life right before your very eyes. And not since last year’s AVATAR have I been so engrossed into a film‘s special effects that I was left utterly speechless. But if the effects weren’t impressive enough, INCEPTION is further complemented with an incredibly stunning score done none other than by the likes of legendary master film composer Hans Zimmer, who’s score creates the perfect mood for the film’s tone, and complements each and every frame from start to finish. The plot is captivatingly alluring. The film starts off presenting a highly incoherent opening only to rain much more layers of complexity onto it’s viewers, weeding you (the viewer) into it’s complex world of wonders, with Nolan as the storyteller guiding us through this world of high-stakes corporate espionage, in which it take more than just wits to survive, but also a strong will to prevail. As the story goes on, the complexity of the plot begins to make sense as the mystery slowly unravels itself, only to be twisted and further perverted into more mystery and madness as the film’s plot takes new unexpected twists and turns which lead up to a shockingly explosive ending that will have moviegoers talking about long after the movie is over. INCEPTION is without a doubt a top contender for best of 2010! It is highly recommended.

As for the acting: like all of Christopher Nolan’s past films, the choice in actor’s and the quality in which their performance is handled plays a strong role in making the film all that more worth seeing, in fact one could argue that the performance’s in Nolan’s films plays out equally as good as the writing itself. Leonardo DiCaprio gives a chillingly delightful performance in the lead role of Cobb, a character who’s motives to get back to his children has no boundaries, the man will literally walk through limbo itself if it means a ticket back home to his children, but as the film goes on we learn some troublingly disturbing things about Cobb’s past that makes us question the sake of our own humanity. DiCaprio has certainly come a long way from being the boy we once remembered on a daytime TV sitcom. Joseph Gordon-Levitt has really come into his own over the years, once being known as the adorable child star actor in the early 90’s, Levitt has proved that over the years that he was more than just another child actor with every film he’s starred in over the years (with the exception of GI JOE) that his performance get’s better and better. Ellen Page is without a doubt one of Hollywood’s most adorable young actors, she can manage to pull off being both hotheaded and coolheaded with such ease and grace it’s no wonder so many moviegoers now days fall head over heels for her. With INCEPTION she pulls a stellar performance that showcases her maturity. Tom Hardy gave a fantastic performance , for anyone who has yet to see the 2008 British biopic BRONSON, Hardy’s ability to transform himself into the role he’s playing it quite magnanimous and deserves recognition. The first time I noticed Ken Watanabe as an actor was in the winter of 2003 during a special by invitation only midnight screening of THE LAST SAMURAI (2003). Needless to say, his performance made I and everyone in that room weep with such heart felt emotion, his performance three years later as General Kuribayashi in LETTER FROM IWO JIMA (2006) also struck a cord emotion by viewers. And the power behind his talent knows no boundaries as he gives a breathtaking performance that will have viewers griped to their seats once more.

Final Say: Inception was a breath taking adventure into the lustrous unknown and proved that expectations are meant to be exceeded no matter how high the standard. Inception was a wondrous film that will stick with you long after the film is over and It stands to reason that it is without a doubt going to stand the test of time as a true classic, and like all classics I believe it’ll stand out as the subject topic of teaching proper filmmaking in film schools some day. I highly recommend it!

Copyright 2010 TCWreviews.com
All Rights Reserved

Dexter star's Michael C. Hall And Jennifer Carpenter Call It Quiets With Marriage


I hate having to report break ups, especially two in the same day, but what choice to I have but to either report it or ignore it? and believe me ignorance no matter what shape or form is ignorance none the less. Apparently on the same day that Ryan Reynolds and Scarlett Johansson’s divorce was announced another divorce failing was also announced, Showtime’s hit show Dexter star Michael C. Hall and co-star actress Jennifer Carpenter have reportedly called it quiets with they’re marriage. Hall’s rep confirmed the news in a statement sent to Entertainment Weekly.

“Having been separated for some time, Jennifer Carpenter and Michael C. Hall have filed for divorce.”

Both Michael C. Hall and Jennifer Carpenter’s reps added that the split was “amicable“. this coming at a rough time for Hall, who This announcement came at a bit of a surprise seeing that Michael went through his battle with cancer earlier this year, and it seemed like ordeal only strengthen he and Jennifer’s relationship. But I guess with time things change.

Ryan Reynolds And Scarlett Johansson File For Divorce


In today’s day and age, Celebrity divorces occur more commonly than we’d all like to think, especially when the masses really cheer for a particular couple to be ‘the one’ who makes it. Sadly it seems that there is no perfect Hollywood couple anymore, than there’s a perfect utopia on earth. For a long time now people (including myself of course) assumed Ryan Reynolds and Scarlett Johansson were considered the perfect couple. These two have never been seen out and about without a smile or glimmer of glee on their faces, they seemed like a couple that was always stuck in the cute puppy love stage of their relationship. Well, after 2 years of marriage it seems as those that cute puppy was put to sleep, as the two is now ready to call it quits and are filing for divorce. The couple said in a joint statement that: "After long and careful consideration on both our parts, we've decided to end our marriage. We entered our relationship with love and it's with love and kindness we leave it," they then went on to say "While privacy isn't expected, it's certainly appreciated."

Johansson, 26, has starred in such notable films as The Nanny Diaries (2007), Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2008), He's Just Not That Into You (2009). and as the sexy former Russian Spy Natasha Romanoff AKA The Black Widow in this year’s Iron Man 2 and is scheduled to reprise her role as the famous marvel character in “The Avengers” film due out summer 2012.

Reynolds, 34, is wildly known for his performances in film like Van Wilder (2002), Blade: Trinity (2004), The Proposal (2009) X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009, and in this year’s ultra claustrophobic thriller, Buried (2010), He’ll next be seen in next year’s “Green Lantern” film starring as the title character. Reynolds was recently picked by People Magazine as “its sexiest man alive” for 2010.

Sunday, December 12, 2010

THOR TRAILER!!!

There’s nothing more exciting in a comic book geek’s life like the joy of reading the latest issue of their favorite comic book. What’s equally satisfying is watching their favorite comic book get adapted into a live action movie… when it’s done right of course, because not sticking to the ground bases in which the film is based on is the complete opposite to what a geek wants. How do I know this? Well it’s safe to say I’m a born and breed geek to the core and what I love most is going to the cinema year in year out watching my favorite hero leaping off of a tall building on his or her signature outfit fight bad guys and kicking butt. What I don’t like is Halle Berry and Ben Affleck thinking they’re superheroes! That just won’t fly with me, you dig?

Anyhow it seems that Marvel Enterprise has finally gotten an edge over it’s life long competitor DC [Comics] by finally getting their act together and making “The Avengers” movie happen, the idea of a live action Avengers movies has been on the minds of members in the business for well over 3 decades, a JLA (Justice League of America) has also long been talked about, but never quite came to fruition, but after numerous failed attempts, Marvel has finally gained the upper hand by setting things in motion with the 2008 box office hit Iron Man. Now, with only two years away, things are finally starting to show with next year’s release of “The First Avenger: Captain America” and “Thor”. Thor is being directed by none other then legendary actor Kenneth Branagh who’s no stranger to the director’s chair, Branagh has directed numerous works over the years including a early 20th century rendition of Hamlet (1996). Branagh is also being considered by fans of the series as the “Ideal” person for the as he is both a fan of the comic series and the Norse Mythology, and has said that the film take on a spliced role of both.

Check out the Trailer of THOR








I don’t know about you but the trailer alone has sold me in being first in line for this bad boy when it’s released in theaters everywhere.

THOR is Directed By Kenneth Branagh. Written By Ashley Miller, Zack Stentz and Don Payne. And stars Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Anthony Hopkins, Tom Hiddleston, Idris Elba, Ray Stevenson, Clark Gregg, Rene Russo, Jaimie Alexander, Colm Feore, Tadanobu Asano, Stellan Skarsgård and Kat Dennings.

Racy Photos of Xtina Leaked On To The Internet!!!

The internet can be a man’s best friend and a celebrity’s worst nightmare. In the recent months a slew of celebrities have had compromising photos of themselves released onto the interweb (a la Kat Dennings, Jessica Alba, etc, etc) it should be known as the cardinal rule for all celebrities; If there’s nude photos of yourself in existence it will fine it’s way onto the internet one day. The latest victim thus far of a photo scandal is singer turned actress Christina Aguilera.

Racy semi-nude photos of the “Burlesque” star hit the web after an unknown hacker obtained the photos from her personal stylist's account. in a statement issued by the singer's rep the photos were “taken in the privacy “ of her own home and was meant only to be seen by her stylist and herself.

A rep for the singer has issued the following statement:

“The photos of Christina Aguilera being leaked to the press were illegally obtained by a hacker who tapped into Christina’s personal stylist’s account.”

“The photos were taken in the privacy of Ms. Aguilera’s home and were used only in a personal exchange between the star and her stylist.”

“We find the actions of the hackers and the press who purchased and/or obtained these photos to be irresponsible and actionable. We are attempting to determine the identity of the hackers and will pursue them aggressively. Their conduct is reprehensible.”

Her rep said that they will be taking full legal action against whomever is responsible for these photos being leaked onto the internet. This scandal comes at a bad time for the singer as she just recently filed for divorce from her husband Jordan Bratman whom they share a child with.

Saturday, December 11, 2010

HP Star Called Back For Re-Shoots After New Haircut!

For almost a decade, fans have basked in the glory that is the Harry Potter films, while the stars of the series have been hard at work for well over a decade. Now, with Book seven part 1 out in theaters and it’s second half on it’s way, the series is sadly coming to an end. With everything said and done the world eagerly awaits to see what will become of these stars outside of the HP films. First up would have to be none other then Emma Watson, who’s already taken the first step in shedding her ‘Hermione’ look by chopping off her signature hair in celebration to the closing of the series. But sadly the starlet may now be regretting doing so after receiving word that co-stars Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and herself is being called back in by the studio for re-shoots on the final scene that takes place some 19 years later.



The 20 year old actress said in an exclusive interview with Metro that she “didn’t get to experiment with dyeing and chopping off ” her hair and that it “felt, right”

“I’m 20, I’m not a little girl any more. I’d been on Harry Potter for ten years so I needed to mark the end of it in some way. I needed a drastic change and that’s what the crop was all about.”

Read the full interview with Metro

Watson’s new haircut became the center of attention when it was first debuted after rapping of the HP series. It’s most likely that Watson will have to wear a wig for the scene, but hopefully she’ll take this as a lesson learned before attempting to do something like this again without considering the possibility of having to go back in for re-shoots in the future. Emma Watson is set to appear in the upcoming film My Week with Marilyn (2011) which is set for a TBA 2011.

Friday, December 10, 2010

HBO's True Blood Get's 7 More Actors to Join Cast for Upcoming Season!

I often question just why are vampires so popular in modern pop culture when other mythological creators are not. Is it because there’s something mystically appealing to the fact they’re immortal dead beings who prey over the living as they‘re source of nourishment? or is it because they’re more human in terms of appearance then any other mythological being? Women want to fall in love with them while men want to be them, while I on the other hand, just want to stake them at dawn! [Laughs]

Whatever the reason however, [one] cannot help but find a certain appeal for these little bloodsuckers no matter the medium, one particular series that comes to mind when thinking about the vampire lore is HBO’s hit series TRUE BLOOD, which is probably (in my opinion) the best Vampire drama I’ve seen in recent years (Twis*** ain‘t got jack on True Blood) and it seems that with every passing season the show only gets more explosive, intense and more edgier, oh and did I forget to mention more sexier?

And who could not love the heated love triangle between Sookie Stackhouse, Bill Compton and Eric Northman. They’ve been though a lot and you can’t help but love these characters and the groups they associate themselves with. Last season was probably the most intense season yet with the way everything when down you know there‘s going to be a lot to answer for before the dust settles, and if you’ve been keeping up with the books in which the show is based off of then you’ll know that things are only going to get more intense come next season and if you thought the amount of side characters introduced last season was a whirlwind of emotion then prepare yourself to get sucked right back into that whirlwind with the introduction of seven new characters to next season.



Deadline reporting that Christina Moore (From TV’s Hawthorne) is joining the cast of True Blood in a recurring role of Suzanne McKittrick, “a WASP-y Texas housewife who, unsurprisingly, isn't without her own certain set of special abilities.” The actress will film her arc on True Blood during her hiatus from "Hawthorne," which is scheduled to begin production on its third season this spring.

also joining the cast of "True Blood" is Neil Hopkins (TV’s Lost), actor Chris Butler (CBS’s The Good Wife), actress Janina Gavankar (The Gates), also in addition is Alexandra Breckenridge (Life Unexpected) and actress Vedette Lim (As the World Turns) and Fiona Shaw (From the Harry Potter films). Hopkins will play Claude, brother of Claudine, the mysterious leader of the ‘fairies’ seen in last season. While Butler will be joining the cast playing the part of Emory, whom has been described by the site Deadline as "a prissy and conservative shapeshifter with his own agenda." Gavankar is set to play Luna, a public school teacher who also happens to be a shapeshifter. Shaw will play Marnie a mysterious leader of a Wiccan group. While Breckenridge is set to play Daisy, a member from the Wiccan group founded by the character Marnie. Meanwhile, Lim will play Naomi, a fighter that's well-known in the underground cage match scene.

The forth season of HBO’s True Blood is set for a summer 2011 release.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Take A Swim In Echo Lake!

Jonathan Moody, the creative mastermind behind such works as “Scream Queen Campfire” and “Trick or Eat” is now working hard on delivering his newest creation yet to horror fans everywhere, with his new web series: ECHO LAKE. The series is currently filming for a targeted April 12, 2011 launch. Moody has stated that Echo Lake is a horror mystery thriller about a small town where “anyone can be the suspect for a relentless Serial Killer and anyone can also be a victim.” Moody has also said that ECHO LAKE will be split into six fifteen minute episodes which would later be edited into a 90 minute feature film.



“The idea of the series is to do a murder mystery where each week you'd watch 15 mins and see people die in every episode. Who the killer is will always be questioned. And you will never know until the 6th and final episode. The way its made though will turn in to a 90 minute feature film in the end.”

While next April is still a long ways away, we can all take comfort from the viewing of a few behind the scenes screenshots taken on the set during the first two days of shooting.









Moody has suggested that folks interested in following this new series should keep an eye out on the ECHO LAKE official Facebook page

The series is also co-written by (Drum roll please) TCW Reviews’ very own resident film critic and columnist Kelsey Zukowski! So we at TCW Reviews would like to give a great big congrats to Kelsey for her upcoming work on ECHO LAKE.

ECHO LAKE is Written by Jonathan Moody and Kelsey Zukowski and Directed by Jonathan Moody. This web series is made by Sick Flick Productions and will star Chason Hunter, Brittany Colley, Andre Bland, Jonathan Moody, Eli Harris, Kelsey Zukowski, Sam Qualiana, Robert Shepherd, Frances Mitchell, Phil Duffy, and many more with special cameos by a few others.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

DreamWorks Animation Reveals Plans for Next Ten Years of Sequels

No matter how old I get I’ve always have and always will be a fan of animation, weather it be old classic animation or computer generated animation like Pixar’s TOY STORY or DreamWorks’s SHREK. I am and always will be a hardcore fan. Now with that being said I also like keeping up with the companies that make these wonderful films, and of hearing future announcements on their film franchises and if and how will they continue advancement of their series. To my surprise I got wind that DreamWorks Animation (Pixar’s long time competitor) had their chief Jeffrey Katzenberg sit down with Empire for an interview in which he laid out DreamWorks Animation map for the next decade of sequels in the works. According to Katzenberg, DreamWorks has planes for at least five sequels in store for the Kung Fu Panda franchise and a third and forth instilment for the Madagascar films while the movie How To Train Your Dragon is set for a trilogy with the option for more installments if needed further down the road.



Here’s a bit from the interview: "So today I can tell you pretty succinctly where Madagascar goes. Ultimately they will come back to New York, and they will come to terms with that, which they will do in this next chapter. Because of the way that movie concludes there’s probably one more for them…"

"Yeah, there’s probably a fourth there. Kung Fu Panda actually has 6 chapters to it, and we’ve mapped that out over the years. How To Train Your Dragon is at least three: maybe more, but we know there are a least three chapters to that story. There are actually 8 books."

You can read the full interview over at Empire online: here

With some many sequels planed for just three of their franchises (not to mention other projects not pertaining to these films) it looks like DreamWorks has their work cut out for them for the coming decade.

In my opinion I’m all for this news so long as the films are made with the same respect and quality as their predecessors.

Mel Gibson Plays With Beaver!!!

There’s a great many things in my life I don’t expect to read or write about due to the possibilities of it happening in my lifetime being very grim. Among those listed are; Aliens arriving to earth, seeing the national deficit paid off in full, seeing the first time machine invented, witnessing a real life clash between Ninjas and Pirates on the open seas, and peace in the middle east. Yes I know the odds of any of these happening in mine, or anyone who’s currently alive right now’s lifespan for that matter is pretty far out there. Also among my list is a saying combination of words I’d never expect to say in a million years, but as they say there’s a first for everything, right? Well here goes nothing; want to see Mel Gibson put his fist in Jodie Foster’s Beaver?



…well maybe not in the way you were probably thinking but I forgive you for having your mind stuck in the gutter, anyway the film THE BEAVER has Mel Gibson starring alongside two time Oscar winning actress Jodie Foster, who also happens to be the film’s Director.

Check out the Trailer for this upcoming film:





The synopsis: Two-time Academy Award winner Jodie Foster directs and co-stars with two-time Academy Award winner Mel Gibson in THE BEAVER - an emotional story about a man on a journey to re-discover his family and re-start his life. Plagued by his own demons, Walter Black was once a successful toy executive and family man who now suffers from depression. No matter what he tries, Walter can't seem to get himself back on track...until a beaver hand puppet enters his life

The Beaver is set for a spring 2011 release.

I think many will agree that 2010 hasn’t exactly been Mel Gibson’s best year. Aside from a fairly decent film (Edge of Darkness 2010) this year hasn’t been too kind to him with allegation of threats and abuse mountain on as well as having a brutal custody battle with his Ex-Girlfriend Oksana Grigorieva.

However with that being said I can’t help but feel bad for the guy a little. Yes he’s been a bit of a booze hound in resent years, and sure he’s said some pretty crazy stuff that would have someone like Hitler jumping up and down with glee. He’s said and made quite a lot of bad decisions over the resent years that would have to be completely blinded by ignorance to not have known anything of it, but with that being said I guess what I’m getting at here is that Mel’s no saint he’s been awfully clear about it, but he’s only human so let’s cut the man a break already!

BOONDOCK SAINTS LAUNCHES MOBILE GAME TOURNAMENT!!!

As you may remember a while back we reported that a Boondock Saints Mobile Game would be blasting it’s way onto the Apple App Store for the iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad. Well it’s here and making waves as expected, but now the good folks who brought us this classic style shoot’em up game has just given us another reason to play other then the fact to be a total bad ass playing as one of the MacManus brothers.



Unleash your deadly skills as the brothers MacManus in our top-down shooter game Tournament! Go on your own righteous mission of revenge and share your results with friends! Play as often as you like in STORY MODE.


What You Win:

· GRAND PRIZE- collectible Boondock Saints 2 Movie Prop + a personal phone call from Film Creator/Writer/ Director Troy Duffy and “The Funny Man” actor David Della Rocco + autographed BDS swag
· 2ND PRIZE – Collectible BDS 2 Movie Prop + autographed BDS swag (TBD)
· 3RD PRIZE - autographed BDS swag (TBD)
· 7 runners up- BDS swag (TBD)

How to Participate.
1. Confirm Game has been properly downloaded and is working on your mobile device;
2. Sign up for a free Open-Feint account (directly from your device or at
http://www.openfeint.com/ )
3. Play the Game in Story Mode
4. Check the leader board at BoondockSaints.com/mobile-game.php often to track results
Tournament ends at midnight (PST) Jan. 5, 2011
To learn more, visit http://www.boondocksaints.com/mobile-game.php

I don’t know about any of you, but being offered free collectible swagger is a fantastic incentive for indie gamers to join the fun, and for all you Boondock Betties out there, if there’s ever been a better reason to becoming a gamer this is it!

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Paranormal Activity 3 Coming Soon In 2011!

In 2009 the film Paranormal Activity proved that one doesn’t need big name stars or a successful filmmaker behind the camera to make a decent horror. All one needs is a committed enough cast and crew, the right setting and a hang nail budget ($15,000 to be precise), and you can be just as terrifying as the major league players. And with just under $200M at the box-office I think it’s safe to say they executed it spot on.

So it was pretty obvious that the studio would eventually go the ‘SAW’ rout with the franchise and capitalize on it while it was the ‘In’ thing to watch. And who could blame them, as the saying goes “Strike while the iron is hot!.” Well, apparently that’s precisely what Paramount Pictures is planning to do, as there is already a - are you ready? - Paranormal Activity 3 in pre-production! In an interview with Dread Central, director and producer, Oren Peli, stated that Paramount Pictures has given the green light to begin production of Paranormal Activity 3. It is planned to be in theaters on October 21, 2011.

Now I admit I’ve never dabbled in the series myself by watching any of the films nor have I had any desire to do so anytime soon… however, after closely examining the budgets and revenue of both films there may me be a sign of decrees in profits for the franchise further down the road, if you look at the first film, which cost roughly about $15,000 or so to make and pulled in a pinch under $200M, yet it’s sequel, though still pulled in a very impressive take at the box office (somewhere around $163M) the budget for it was significantly higher then it predecessor by a cool $3M. Now I’m no mathematician or a big city lawyer, but I certainly hope that the big wigs over at Paramount are doing their own statistics too, because judging by the vast number of negative reviews maintained by film critics over how the sequel ’Went’ wrong, it’s pretty safe to say that if they don’t correct the mistakes made in the first sequel with this third upcoming installment then the franchise could meet an early demise.

A Tribute To Actor Leslie Nielsen.

It’s kind of interesting how we perceive a person over the course of their life, Leslie William Nielsen (or just simply Leslie Nielsen for sort), is wildly renown for his comedic character acting in a slew of parodies throughout the years, yet he began his career as a dramatic actor starring alongside some of the greats of his time. Such as Glenn Ford and Donna Reed in the classic crime drama Ransom! (1956) or Forbidden Planet (1956) starring alongside such names as Walter Pidgeon and Anne Francis.

Aside from co-starring and on occasion, starring in films throughout the 50’s and 60’s he’d later go onto appear in a supporting role in The Poseidon Adventure (1972) which starred Gene Hackman. And the iconic horror film Prom Night (1980) which starred himself and Jamie Lee Curtis. Thing is he’d dabbled in just about every genre in the business, but none of which set the tone of his career then comedy did, to be more precise, parodies.

The 1980 box office hit Airplane! (1980) is vastly adored by his fans for one of his most memorable performance as Dr. Rumack the wacky Doctor who’d say horribly comedic lines as “The life of everyone on board depends upon just one thing: finding someone back there who can not only fly this plane, but who didn't have fish for dinner.” or "some time when the crew is up against it, and the breaks are beating the boys, tell them to get out there and give it all they got and win just one for the Zipper. I don't know where I'll be then, Doc," he said, "but I won't smell too good, that's for sure."

However above all thing in his career he’ll always be remembered to many of us for his iconic role as Lt. Frank Drebin from the Naked Gun franchise. Though the first film in the series was released in 1988 some might not remember, or even realize that the film’s idea, as well as the character Frank Drebin played by Nielsen as well as the other many memorable characters was first introduced to audiences in the short lived television series Police Squad! (1982) which sadly only lasted a few episodes before meeting it’s untimely cancellation.

Little did anyone know at the time however, the show would serve as the core basis for what would be the film’s success six years later. Interestingly enough, the comic actor appeared in over 100 films in his lifetime though not all were leads roles he made it known by moviegoers of his presence in ever unforgettable performances.

As I type this I must admit is saddens me to say that on Sunday November 28, 2010. Nielsen passed away due to complications of pneumonia. He was 84. Though I wouldn’t think it proper for one to crack jokes or break out in laughter after someone’s passing, I think is fair to say that when looking back at his talented career I cannot help but smile at all the wonderful memories he’s given me, and others like myself out there.

So in the sprite of the joy Nielsen’s films gave those who watched them, I think we should celebrate the wonderful life that lived as I’d believe it’s what Nielsen would have wanted seeing he spent the better half of his life making us smile and break out in tears of laughter rather then tears of sadness. So to Mr. Nielsen, where every you are, we hope you find peace, and you’ll surely be missed by us all.

“I am serious... and don't call me Shirley”.
-Leslie Nielsen (Airplane!)


Leslie William Nielsen
February 11, 1926 – November 28, 2010
R.I.P.

Olivia Munn Wants To Be Catwoman!

With barely 20 or so months away before the release of director Christopher Nolan’s 3d installment to the Batman series ‘The Dark Knight Rises’, rumors are running amuck regarding the second sequel. From rumored villains to possible love interests, it’s a never ending battle of gossip and rumors at the moment for a film that doesn’t even begin productions until next April (2011).

HollywoodLife.com is reporting that Actress/T.V. Personality Olivia Munn, is showing a deep desire to play the sensual anti-heroine Catwoman in Nolan’s 3d installment.

“I would do craft service on a Christopher Nolan film, I would literally be handing out Raman Noodles to everyone, I mean I am a huge super hero comic book fan, I already have the suit, so that would save them a few hundred dollars,”

There is no official word as of yet if weather or not the character will make an appearance in the next installment then alone exist in Nolan’s Batman universe all together.

This comes along as the overwhelming mountain of rumors begin to make it’s way out of the woodworks.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

American Sunset (2010) Now Available on DVD and Blu-ray

Last March Hollywood lost a great talent from the ranks. I speak of actor Corey Haim, whom during the height of his career (acting alongside best friend, Corey Feldman) was considered one of industry’s biggest child stars and teen ideal during the last years of the 80’s, but being on the top did not come with a price at such a young age as he struggled with the harsh truth of decline in popularity as the times changed due to substance abuse throughout most of his adult life which plagued his career and haunted his personal life. But before the final curtain call he was able to bring hope and satisfaction to his devoted and loyal fan base with the film American Sunset, which is now available on DVD and Blu-ray.




Los Angeles, CA – (WORLD STOCK WIRE) – Global Entertainment Holdings, Inc. a publicly traded entertainment Company (OTCBB: GBHL), and its Canadian affiliate, Global Universal Pictures (“Global Pictures”), announces the on-line distribution of the Company’s action thriller, American Sunset, exclusively on the film’s website: AmericanSunsetTheMovie.com, operated by Global Universal Film Group, a wholly-owned subsidiary of GBHL.

Due to an overwhelming demand from moviegoers, predominantly the late Corey Haim’s loyal fan base, Global Universal has launched the Company’s DVD sales division. With the Company having experienced a number of orders far in excess of what it had anticipated, just on the first day of availability, it was necessary for the Company to outsource the production of additional copies of the film.

“As is frequently the case with mainstream Hollywood, the movie has met its fair share of resistance. Corey Haim was a much admired Child Actor and Teen Heartthrob. His extraordinary talent was well recognized by distinguished critics at a very young age, firmly planting the establishment of his persona as the adorable little boy next door.” stated Jackie Giroux, American Sunset’s Producer.

“It’s well known how unforgiving Hollywood can be to grown up child stars, but the fans emphatically embrace him still… We have received abundant correspondence demanding an opportunity to see his final contribution to the film industry and the world. In the exclusive behind the scenes footage, Corey stated “I Want Everyone to See This Movie”, and his public will now have the opportunity to enjoy his exceptional performance in American Sunset. It is in his memory, and with this resolve that we move forward, passionately, to make this production, and others still to come, a smashing success.” concluded Ms. Giroux.

The Highly Acclaimed Film, American Sunset, features Corey Haim in his final performance as an adult leading actor. “Corey brought American Sunset to life with his outstanding performance.” stated Gary Rasmussen, CEO of Global Universal Film Group. He continues: “Between the talented cast, the exceptional directing, and the spellbinding plot of this film, it leaves nothing to be desired but a need to watch it again. We expect our internet sales to reflect these factors, as the popularity of this film continues to grow.”

American Sunset unravels a mysterious conspiracy with numerous spellbinding plot twists revolving around a kidnapping ploy that robs a devoted husband of his true love, while playing a game that prolongs her safety by correctly responding to the kidnapper’s riddles. One wrong answer means fatal consequences. As the pursuit to save his wife plunges Haim’s character deeper into a corrupt world, the greedy, deceptive and immoral motives become increasingly obvious; this is not just a random kidnapping for money, this is deadly personal.

The Movie, American Sunset, is NOW AVAILABLE in DVD and Blu-ray for distribution worldwide on the film’s Official website:
AmericanSunsetTheMovie.com. Please visit the site and view the trailer.


Here's a clip of Corey talking about American Sunset



This film will make for the ultimate gift of the holiday season for any fan of Corey Haim as it generously displays his graceful comeback before his unfortunate passing.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Review: Unstoppable (2010) [Reviewed By David Deminic Dimichele]

Directed by: Tony Scott
Written By: Mark Bomback
Starring: Denzel Washington, Chris Pine and Rosario Dawson
Release Date: 12 November 2010 (USA)
Rated: PG-13 for sequences of action and peril, and some language.

Review: *** out of ****

Depending on relentless action has been for director Tony Scott a necessity, almost to the point where his films are never able to prevail over the impertinent unless he succumbs, and yet again embraces, a gallant spectacle of improbable explosions. Some fancy this style of direction. But once all the booms, fires and crashes have dissipated there is a feeling of disengagement. Previous films from Scott are like this (“Déjà Vu”); they are forgetful because he abates humanity, unhinging his audience from any opportunity that could grant us the slightest semblance of emotion. With his latest film “Unstoppable,” humanity is permeating the entire picture, evident in every frame right alongside Scott’s fervent obsession with unrelenting action. The results surprise us.

Everything is augmented to a tremendous magnitude. Everything! Scott takes full advantage of a huge steel monster of a train (consisting of 39 cars) that is unmanned and carrying highly explosive materials, torpedoing down the rural Pennsylvania railroad tracks on its way toward Scranton, a highly populated city of about 70,000. Scott does not hesitate to cash in on this incident based on true life events (originally occurring in Ohio in 2001). Surely some fabrication has been used which can be accounted for due to some insanely implausible occurrences.

This entire catastrophe is ignited by Dewey (Ethan Suplee), a lazy railroad worker who is unforgivable in his doings. This human error sends in motion a series of potential cataclysmic events (school children onboard train!) that are unabashed in its approach to incite the crowd. But what outshines all the carnage, explosions and unceasing adrenaline rushes is Scott’s newly found ability to locate what truly makes cinema pure: Humanity.



Scenes are many where we have dialogue that does not feel like it is being shoved down our throats. Instead it feels voluble and unforced, evoking the atmosphere of blue-collar workers who are comfortable in their environment. The potent dialogue begins and ends with the 28-year veteran train engineer Frank (Denzel Washington) and Will (Chris Pine), a four month rookie with connections in the business. They are currently on a job. It is early in the morning. We see the fog dissipating; discern their breath as it hits the cold air; and are immersed in the cold, brisk atmosphere that is surrounded by trees of multiple colors and some that have fallen victim to the coldness, bearing no leaves at all. This is all beautifully captured and can even be seen as another character as the runaway train will plow through this gorgeous environment promising to decimate all in its path.

Frank and Chris are conducting a single car train. Frank initiates the conversation by asking Will about his love life. Typical guy talk. Will tells him it is a long story. Frank replies by telling him that they have all day. They do have a long work day ahead of them. Frank sees this as being an opportunity to bond with Will; the older generation willing to talk and engage, while the younger generation more mute and stand-offish.



Little does time pass before Frank is told that an unmanned train is heading his direction. He communicates with an overwhelmed traffic control officer played by Rosario Dawson who urges him to play it safe. But come on, this is Denzel Washington; we know he is not going to shrink away from saving the day. With all the commotion occurring outside the train of Frank and Will - the insatiable news stations, the train company’s money-hungry CEOs, the near fatal crashes and close calls of derailment by the runaway train - we find shelter from the storm. Scott distinguishes two separate environments. He balances the quarrelsome behavior with the serenely calmness found within the single car train. It is a juxtaposition of the panic-stricken society with the assurance of two men who are not afraid to die.

But what is even more appealing than this juxtaposition of environments is the communication emerging between two distinct generations (veteran/rookie, old/young). We see the differences of Frank and Chris decrease over time partly because they actually listen and talk to each other without any preconceived judgments or prejudices and, secondly, their initial considerably distanced relationship becomes condensed because they realize humanity is at stake. It would help that people were on the same page while trying to save a town from complete devastation.



Scott needs to be fortunate to have Washington and Pine onboard. They are both the embodiments of their respective generations; Washington is the protector and we feel safe when in his presence; Pine is the rebel (as seen in “Star Trek”) who wants to do it his way but still smart enough to adhere to a more experienced individual. Surprisingly enough Scott sees the potential here. Such prodigious potential it is. Many of Scott’s movies are incommunicable and not participating in human personalities that are integral to the picture he is making. With “Unstoppable” he shows a sincere reverence for dialogue. And as we listen to Denzel and Chris talk, as they fly 70mph down the Pennsylvania railroad tracks, we do not want to leave their train. It is the only place where reality is occurring and communication flourishing. Once we leave their company, no matter how entertaining it can be, that flame of reality is extinguished by the overbearing force of things that have the tendency to explode into thousands of pieces.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Review: The Red Hours (2008) [Reviewed By Clifford Kiyabu]

Directed by: John Fallon
Written by: John Fallon (written by)
Genre: Short / Horror
MPAA: Not Rated
Released: 2008
Starring: Deke Richards, Heather Westwood, Amy Wickenheiser.

Plot: On one fateful night at a lowly dive bar, the tension between two lovers finally explodes resulting in a soirée of blood, chainsaw and bullets.

Review: 8/10

The Story is about: A quiet war is transpiring between lovers Marc (Deke Richards) and Natasha (Amy Wickenheiser). The more mature and old fashion Marc can't come to terms with his better half being bisexual hence he's constantly feeling hurt and resentful. On her end, Natasha feels criticized and un-accepted, consequently finding comfort in the arms of her lover Drew (Heather Westwood). The tension between them all reach a critical mass as the boiling point of their relationship results into chaos.

My Thoughts: As an online film critic, I enjoyed closely following the critiques of other fellow columnists and critics in my field, one that easily comes to mind is Actor/film critic John Fallon (AKA Arrow in The Head from Joblo.com.) a film critic who’s own 2 cents caught my attention early on when I was still a voiceless moviegoer in the overwhelming crowds. I often at times found myself concurring with his critiques 60 to 65% of the time (I’ve highly disagreed with him on a few films in the past, but luckily this should remain as proof of my unbiased nature on the matter). Since than I’ve had the opportunity of interviewing him personally which was both an honor and a pleasure. I’ve also had the chance to review a film in which he starred in (DEADEN (2006)) which aside from a few flaws I found quite enjoyable especially with how he handled himself as an actor in the film. so seeing that he’s taped into the field of critiquing, acting, and producing it was only a matter of time, in my opinion, before he’d have his hand at directing and writing, luckily for me, he’s done both in a little known sort film called THE RED HOURS (2008).

THE RED HOURS is a film which proved to be strangely alluring. The film’s tone is set from the start of the very first frame which gives it’s viewers an insight into shear madness. We are shown Mark, a man who‘s in the bathroom of a rave party looking into a mirror at himself, while at quick glance it seems he‘s just looking at himself, it becomes clear that Mark is doing much more, he is starring into his own soul which is obviously filled with rage and discontent regarding his relationship status with his girlfriend and is un-doubtable suspicions. From this moment on the line between reality and delusion begins to blur and we are taken to a chaotically horrific setting where Mark is awaken tide to a char while his girlfriend and another woman make out while holding a human heart (or at least that‘s what it looked like to me) from here the story takes a dramatically pulse pounding race for survival leaving the viewer on the edge of their seat wondering how will it all end. Some will argue that this film is an art house piece while others say it’s surrealist piece. I say it’s the type of short film that filmmaker’s Stanley Kubrick and Alfred Hitchcock would have cooked up had they ever worked together [Laughs]. But seriously, TRH is a marvelous surrealist piece that really digs deep into the human psyche and shows the war that we fight within ourselves and the meaningful concept of doomed relationships and how we’re all sort of on a one way rollercoaster ride down the rabbit hole of insanity and the best thing most can do is sit back and enjoy the ride. Fallon defiantly took point from the formulated ideas of some of the greats when making this and I respect him greatly for it. The film’s plot doesn’t try to makes sense of itself (so don‘t bother attempting to do so) but rather explains to you the moral of the story, not through dialog but through it’s individual impulsive actions which are mirrored though the emotions of the main character creating a horrific delusion full of pain, fear, misery and utter chaos that leads up to the ultimate punch line, a kiss of death. Some of what I’ve said may not make much sense to you but make no mistake about it that TRH is a remarkable piece of film art that speaks to a generation living a lost cause of failing relationships and trying to understand that which is meant to die.

As for the acting: well what can I say, the acting was for the most part professional but a bit of a mix bag, but despite having a run time of only 10 minutes in length the actors manage to create an atmospheric overtone that brought an alluring sense to these characters which proved to be both entertaining and fulfilling. Deke Richards who’s worked with John Fallon numerously in the past as co-stars on a number of previous projects, is now working together once more but this time as star and director. Richards pulls off a fine performance which was both edgy and thought provoking because most of the film’s foundation is built upon his physical reactions and impulses. I’m not very familiar with Heather Westwood or Amy Wickenheiser’s past works so there’s no chance at me giving a proper comparisons, but, their performance was passable to say the least in my opinion and help add some depth to the story working opposites of Richards.

Final Say: If a picture is worth a thousand words, then THE RED HOURS is worth that amount tenfold as it’s without a doubt clear that Fallon’s put a lot of effort and hard work into developing this sort into nothing sort of creative art at it‘s best. Though it may not be for everyone it‘s highly recommended taking a look at. I highly recommend it!

Copyright 2010 TCWreviews.com
All Rights Reserved

Jessica Alba Photo Scandal!

The other day while covering the Kat Dennings photo scandal I failed to take notice of another photo scandal that was amidst in the web that I had no clue of until recently (forgive me dear readers but sometimes things will slip through the cracks, or I‘ll just simply not want to cover them. This being the latter of course).

Anyway, it appears that actress Jessica Alba has found herself in the middle of a photo scandal frenzy! Topless photos of the actress, who’s refusal to do on screen nude scenes have been leaked onto the adult website ‘Fleshbot.’ The photos are cell phone pictures that she had sent to close friends which documents her pregnancy shortly before the birth of her daughter Honor Marie. The photos couldn’t have arrived at a better time for the actress’s career as she is facing some backlash for her recent interview in Elle Magazine which has been met with tough criticism by some around the blogosphere.

One of the many quotes she‘s being criticized for in her interview (among other things said in the interview) ‘I’m shy. I do not like being the center of attention. When it comes to comedy though I lose all of my inhibition and I no longer care’ said Alba in her interview. ‘The time that I don’t spend with my kid has to be worth it. Now I prefer not to be the lead. I like this better. It is a whole different approach.’

One of the photographs display Alba lifting her shirt and showing off her swollen, pregnant stomach. Another of the photographs also displays a fair shot of her exposed breasts. The pictures were meant for personal sentiment purposes in nature and were not taken to be explicitly sexual in any way, rather to simply document her pregnancy.

It’s also been made clear that the pictures were taken in the presence of her husband, Cash Warren, which only furthers proves the story behind these photos being meant for documentation.

Personal opinion on Alba’s interview aside, it’s obviously clear that these photo’s of the actress were not taken for sexual purposes nor where they planted by Alba to be leaked, anyone who observes the pics will take notice that these pics were undeniably meant for displaying her pregnancy and nothing else, it’s only unfortunate that certain other parts were also visible in the photos.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Uwe Boll's Blubberella Trailer Hits The Web!

There are only so many things in the world that is considered offensive. But director Uwe Boll would like to prove otherwise. Known for his work on video game based movies, the director has gone on to up the notch of offensiveness with every passing film. And some argued that he’d finally reached the limit - a low that any person could possibly go - until word of his latest project ‘BLUBBERELLA’, a story about an overweight superhero who fights Nazis while keeping her unquenchable hunger for food at bay.

For a while now some thought the project to be a horrible rumor, seeing that the synapses alone seemed too much of a joke to be taken seriously even by Boll’s standards and the only shred of proof was a poorly design poster that looked like a fan made it instead of a professional so have even said that the project itself was a rumor made up by a fan of the filmmaker, however the rumor has finally been debunked as a trailer for the feature project has hit the web and my is it ever so offensive to viewers everywhere! We at TCWreviews will not support this project by putting the video up on our site but will gladly redirect you to a site that does have it up online, so head on over to Joblo and check it out for yourself!

Despite not showing any support for his latest or past projects I have to say I at least respect director Uwe Boll for sticking to his ideals when making a film.

Jessica Alba Vs. John August!

They say all press is good press right? Well Actress Jessica Alba is known for many things, drop dead body, her pretty looks and unmatched charm both on and off camera which has proven quite profitable for her over the years, but outstanding performance skills in not one of them. Granted she’s gone far as an actress and have starred in some very notable roles (Dark Angel keeps coming to mind), however I seriously doubt she’d be accepting the award for best actress in the Oscars anytime soon. So in all the moment’s where all press is good press, this bit is far from being anywhere near to good press.

Recently quoted from her interview in Elle Magazine on the subject of acting, and how to be good at it she gave a piece of advice that should have been kept to herself, what was her advice? Ignore the screenwriters.

She was quoted for saying "Good actors never use the script unless it’s amazing writing. All the good actors I’ve worked with, they all say whatever they want to say."

Now it’s more then safe to say that there isn’t a respectable person in they’re right mind in the industry who would go bat-shit crazy on her for such a comment, however before many had the chance to attack her on her comment famed screenwriter John August (BIG FISH and CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY) decided to be the knight in shining armor for his fellow screenwriters by saying this little tidbit on his blog following the events of her interview.

“Oh, Jessica

I have to believe she was misquoted, or excerpted in some unflattering way, because Jessica Alba couldn’t have actually said (the quote).
Oh, Jessica. Where to start?

Scripts aren’t just the dialogue. Screenplays reflect the entire movie in written form, including those moments when you don’t speak. Do you know the real reason we hold table readings in pre-production? So the actors will read the entire script at least once.
Following your logic, you’ve never been in a movie with both good actors and amazing writing. That may be true, but it might hurt the feelings of David Wain, Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller.

You’re saying your co-stars who delivered their lines as written are not “good actors.” Awkward.

You’re setting dangerous expectations. So if an aspiring actor wishes to be “good,” she should say whatever she wants to say? That’s pretty terrible advice.

Screenwriters can be your best friends. We are pushovers for attractive people who pay attention to us. I wrote that bathtub scene in Big Fish because Jessica Lange made brief eye contact with me. So if you’re not getting great writing — and honestly, you’re not — ask to have lunch with the screenwriter. I’ve seen you on interviews. You’re charming. That charm could work wonders.

Again: I know that quotes often come out in ways we never intended. It’s lacking context — though the photos are lovely. (Hi, Carter Smith!) I’m calling this out just so we can all hopefully learn something."


I’m just as optimistic as August on this subject too and hope it was taken out of context and she was misquoted, because if she wasn’t then she’s opened a Pandora's box of problems for herself which could potentially hurt the relationships she’s built with respectable filmmakers and screenplay writers she’s worked with in the past and possibly hindered future opportunities in the process.